Dota 2’s The International 2018 Will Take Place in Canada

Dota 2's The International 2018 will be taking place at the Rogers Arena in Canada for the first time ever. The annual eSports championship competition has always been held in Seattle, United States, with the exception of the first edition in 2011, which took place in Cologne, Germany.

The top Dota 2 teams from around the world will be duking it out with each other on Canadian soil from August 20th to August 25th, 2016. Those who wish to attend the eighth edition of The International can purchase their tickets here when they become available for purchase on March 23rd, 2018. Here's the list of when the tickets will go on sale in several major cities with different time zones:

  • Seattle: March 23rd at 10 AM and 10 PM
  • Rio de Janeiro: March 23rd at 2 PM and March 24th at 2 AM
  • London: March 23rd at 5 PM and March 24th at 5 AM
  • Berlin: March 23rd at 6 PM and March 24th at 6 AM
  • Moscow: March 23rd at 8 PM and March 24th at 8 AM
  • Beijing: March 24th at 1 AM and 1 PM
  • Singapore: March 24th at 1 AM and 1 PM
  • Seoul: March 24th at 2 AM and 2 PM
  • Sydney: March 24th at 4 AM and 4 PM

There will be two types of tickets available, including the Midweek and Finals tickets, which will be available for $125 and $250 respectively. The Midweek tickets will grant access to the first four days of the event while the Finals tickets will allow attendees access to the last two days on August 24th and 25th.

The International 2017 managed to accumulate a total prize pool of a whopping $24,787,916, which broke the eSports tournament record for the largest prize pool in history. Last year's champions grabbed over $10,862,683 in prize money whereas the second and third place winners received $3,950,067 and $2,592,231, respectively.

In other related news, we recently reported that the Dota Team has announced Dota Plus, a new monthly subscription service for Dota 2. Described as an  "evolution of the Battle Pass," notable features include Hero Leveling, which allows players to rack up experience points for their chosen hero and unlock new tiers of hero level badges, as well as the Plus Assistance, which offers real-time item and ability suggestions to help players improve their game.