More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Afro Samurai Preview

Chris_Hudak By:
Chris_Hudak
07/30/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Namco Bandai Games 
DEVELOPER Namco Bandai Games 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Don't make me go all Edo-era on your ass.

click to enlargeBased on the anachronistic, hip-hop dojinshi manga of the same name created by Okazaki Takashi—which was later adapted to an anime miniseries—Afro Samurai is a funky, violent fighter revolving around three aspects of combat: on-foot swordfighting, flips and kicks off environmental objects, and anime-inspired ‘aerial’ slashing.

Afro Samurai employs a dynamic fighting and damage scheme that reflects the particular cuts that players actually make, rather than merely using canned animations. A clean, no-meter interface uses damage-indicative skinning and changing color effects to indicate how hurt or ‘focused’ the player’s character is at any given moment. The game’s hip-hop soundtrack features acts like RZA (Wu-Tang Clan) and Chuy Gomez.

click to enlargeAfro Samurai is all about what the designers are calling ‘elegant violence’ - the crazy-anachronistic samurai style, the revenge-driven storyline, a cel-shaded look… and, of course, the badass vocal presence of Samuel L. Jackson. (“I am sick of these motherfuckin' ninjas on this motherfuckin' bridge!”  Well, that’s the game-trailer that’s playing in our heads, anyway.) Afro Samurai is slated to ship later this year—by which point Samuel L. will probably have appeared in at least sixteen additional movies.

More GR previews for this game:
Afro Samurai preview posted on 07/24/08.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Afro Samurai


More On GameRevolution