More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS NHL 2K Preview
NHL 2K has a timely return on mobile devices for your on-the-go hockey fix.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: Out Now

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Alien: Isolation Preview

gil_almogi By:
Gil_Almogi
06/12/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Horror 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Creative Assembly 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Breathing heavy.

Shit! It sees me.

Or I think it does, based on the way it stops to grunt. Taking no risks, I double-back to the other room, frantically feeling along the wall to find a locker to hide in. I close the locker door and peek through the vent to see what’s going on.

The thudding footsteps get louder until the xenomorph practically stares at me. My lungs already pump air out like bellows, and I’m forced to suck my breath and stand at the far back, hoping it doesn’t realize I’m here. The seconds feel like hours, but it turns away. I let go of the wind, pushing my lips apart and peer through the vent until it leaves the room. Life has been granted to me for maybe another minute.



Moments like these are all too common in Alien: Isolation, the space-based survival horror game fans hope will restore honor to the Alien brand. Honestly, this game seems like the smart and creative solution The Creative Assembly has to the embarrassing Aliens: Colonial Marines. Out with the generic and uninspired man-shooter and in with an IP that reinforces the scarier aspects of the original movie. After all, there were a lot of tense scenes before Ripley was able to take care of business.

Events may play out similarly for her daughter, Amanda, who is the star of this narrative. Similar to the protagonists of Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs and Outlast, Amanda is powerless to face her enemies. Instead she must sneak around using cover and quiet footsteps to out-maneuver the xenomorph(s) lurking in the halls. They are formidable foes, and being snagged by one results in instant failure, so the key is using timing and the environment wisely.



In the demo I played, my first goal was to get to and lock down a set of stairs, but accomplishing this feat was anything but simple. Xenomorphs can crawl through vents just like Amanda can, so I had to take care not to be seen coming out of one. She comes equipped with a motion tracker, but one of my subtasks, which I stupidly committed to, was not to use it. This meant carefully listening to the footsteps and keeping an eye on what was around before making any moves. Of course, even at my best, pipes would loudly vent air from the ceiling, or doors would take a while to slide open, so thinking quickly when I caught the alien’s attention was also paramount.

Sadly, I was not able to finish my simple mission. Although the final game will feature difficulty settings, this demo had to have been set on Hard. Regardless, I came away feeling quite delighted about the final product. I’m not an avid Alien fan, but from a pure gaming perspective, the tension of tip-toeing around a singular and agile foe kept that feeling of dread pounding through my brain every minute. I didn’t get to witness much story, but I hope it is as good as the gameplay. Alien: Isolation will be out on October 7th for Playstation 3, Playstation 4, Xbox 360, Xbox One, and PC.
More GR previews for this game:
Alien: Isolation preview posted on 03/25/14.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Alien: Isolation


More On GameRevolution