More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

Nintendo Downloads January & February 2015 - After Burner, LEGO, Indie Games
Every week, Nintendo updates the eShop on both Wii U consoles and 3DS handheld devices. We'll bring you the list here.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Alien Rage Preview

Jonathan_Leack By:
Jonathan_Leack
06/17/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER City Interactive 
DEVELOPER City Interactive 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

You talkin’ to me, silly alien?


A lot of shooters these days try to cover up their sub-optimal mechanics with fluff. We’ve seen plenty of stories that nobody cares about, and QTEs added when theydoesn’t belong. City Interactive knows many gamers just want some clean, unadulterated shooting action, and to satisfy the craving it began construction of Alien Rage—previously known as Alien Fear.



If you enjoy blasting away enemies, then Alien Rage is your cup of tea. The game is set in a sci-fi world and uses the Unreal Engine to deliver a dark and gritty atmosphere. In a way it’s reminiscent of games like Gears of War and Killzone, but instead you’re fighting savage aliens. The visuals are already sharp during alpha and are some of the best ever seen from a budget title.

When playing Alien Rage it’s all about maintaining a safe perimeter, landing headshots, and taking advantage of the environment. To keep the game’s simplicity interesting, City Interactive has made sure to make gunplay cohesive. It’s rare to play a game that gives so much feedback when you fire weapons, and there are ten of them to offer flexibility. Following the sci-fi theme, each weapon is futuristic and has two fire modes. Learning how to best utilize them is the best way to conquer Alien Rage’s challenges.

Enemies can be difficult to overcome and have a variety of flavors. Many utilize cover to take pop shots at you making it hard to retaliate, while cloaked enemies will charge at you with deadly claws. The 21 different enemy types will also be accompanied by 8 bosses, many of which are large and intimidating. Make sure to bring your A-game as you attempt to conquer all of Alien Rage's 14 levels.



Don’t think you won’t be rewarded for performing well, though. There will be a variety of unlocks obtained by achieving high scores, and they can be used in subsequent playthroughs. You may even choose to take advantage of them when playing on a higher difficulty. Additionally, a leaderboard rich with statistics will add competition for those who seek it.

Later this year you’ll be able to play Alien Rage for yourself and experience the transition from classic arcade shooters to the modern era. It’ll be available for an affordable price on Xbox Live Marketplace, PlayStation Network, and through digital distribution on PC.

More GR previews for this game:
Alien Rage preview posted on 06/17/13.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Alien Rage