More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Alien Rage Preview

Jonathan_Leack By:
Jonathan_Leack
06/17/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER City Interactive 
DEVELOPER City Interactive 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

You talkin’ to me, silly alien?

A lot of shooters these days try to cover up their sub-optimal mechanics with fluff. We’ve seen plenty of stories that nobody cares about, and QTEs added when they don't belong. City Interactive knows many gamers just want some clean, unadulterated shooting action, and to satisfy the craving it began construction of Alien Rage—previously known as Alien Fear.



If you enjoy blasting away enemies, then Alien Rage is your cup of tea. The game is set in a sci-fi world and uses the Unreal Engine to deliver a dark and gritty atmosphere. In a way it’s reminiscent of games like Gears of War and Killzone, but instead you’re fighting savage aliens. The visuals are already sharp during alpha and are some of the best ever seen from a budget title.

When playing Alien Rage it’s all about maintaining a safe perimeter, landing headshots, and taking advantage of the environment. To keep the game’s simplicity interesting, City Interactive has made sure to make gunplay cohesive. It’s rare to play a game that gives so much feedback when you fire weapons, and there are ten of them to offer flexibility. Following the sci-fi theme, each weapon is futuristic and has two fire modes. Learning how to best utilize them is the best way to conquer Alien Rage’s challenges.

Enemies can be difficult to overcome and have a variety of flavors. Many utilize cover to take pop shots at you making it hard to retaliate, while cloaked enemies will charge at you with deadly claws. The 21 different enemy types will also be accompanied by 8 bosses, many of which are large and intimidating. Make sure to bring your A-game as you attempt to conquer all of Alien Rage's 14 levels.



Don’t think you won’t be rewarded for performing well, though. There will be a variety of unlocks obtained by achieving high scores, and they can be used in subsequent playthroughs. You may even choose to take advantage of them when playing on a higher difficulty. Additionally, a leaderboard rich with statistics will add competition for those who seek it.

Later this year you’ll be able to play Alien Rage for yourself and experience the transition from classic arcade shooters to the modern era. It’ll be available for an affordable price on Xbox Live Marketplace, PlayStation Network, and through digital distribution on PC.

More GR previews for this game:
Alien Rage preview posted on 06/17/13.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Alien Rage


More On GameRevolution