More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Aliens: Colonial Marines Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/06/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 12 
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Gearbox Software 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

This is my weapon...


In an E3 booth tour, you miss out on some of the things less-employed gamers see. While waiting for a turn to play the Aliens: Colonial Marines multiplayer demo, some of the folks who had waited in line for an hour figured out an entire strategy to the deathmatch we were about to join.

Colonial Marines pits a team of humans against a team of Aliens. The developers took over the Aliens while journalists and show-goers equipped themselves with asault rifles and shotguns.


"We're going to all go with shotguns."

"What?" I replied. The guy who had been waiting in line told me that they'd been watching humans get torn apart by the developer-controlled enemies this entire time. Normally in a demo like this I would have gone with the default assault rifle loadout.

"OK," I said. Sitting down and putting on the headphones, I scrolled the loadout cursor over to one of the shotgun classes available and based my choice on the one that looked the most badass. It turned out the firearm was a rapid-fire model with a fast reload rate.

I absolutely panicked at the first sight of an alien opponent, instinctively unloading my shotty in the enemy's ugly face. The Aliens can climb on the ceiling and leap large distances. If they can keep the human soldiers from getting a bead on them, the Alien team have every opportunity to tear the humans to shreds.


Luckily, our team stuck together and scanned every nook and cranny for the bastards. Shotgun in hand, I dolled out violent retribution to every Gearbox employee in virtual sight. It's always nice to walk away from a demo with a win, but my time with Aliens: Colonial Marines was particularly sweet.

I held down a 1.5 kill-to-death ratio and was the top scorer on the winning HUMAN team. Gearbox has scheduled Aliens: Colonial Marines for a February 13th release date on the Xbox 360, PS3, and PC. A Wii U version is planned but is currently without a release date.
More GR previews for this game:
Aliens: Colonial Marines preview posted on 12/17/12.
Tags:   E3, Sega
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Aliens: Colonial Marines