More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Aliens: Colonial Marines Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/06/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 12 
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Gearbox Software 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

This is my weapon...


In an E3 booth tour, you miss out on some of the things less-employed gamers see. While waiting for a turn to play the Aliens: Colonial Marines multiplayer demo, some of the folks who had waited in line for an hour figured out an entire strategy to the deathmatch we were about to join.

Colonial Marines pits a team of humans against a team of Aliens. The developers took over the Aliens while journalists and show-goers equipped themselves with asault rifles and shotguns.


"We're going to all go with shotguns."

"What?" I replied. The guy who had been waiting in line told me that they'd been watching humans get torn apart by the developer-controlled enemies this entire time. Normally in a demo like this I would have gone with the default assault rifle loadout.

"OK," I said. Sitting down and putting on the headphones, I scrolled the loadout cursor over to one of the shotgun classes available and based my choice on the one that looked the most badass. It turned out the firearm was a rapid-fire model with a fast reload rate.

I absolutely panicked at the first sight of an alien opponent, instinctively unloading my shotty in the enemy's ugly face. The Aliens can climb on the ceiling and leap large distances. If they can keep the human soldiers from getting a bead on them, the Alien team have every opportunity to tear the humans to shreds.


Luckily, our team stuck together and scanned every nook and cranny for the bastards. Shotgun in hand, I dolled out violent retribution to every Gearbox employee in virtual sight. It's always nice to walk away from a demo with a win, but my time with Aliens: Colonial Marines was particularly sweet.

I held down a 1.5 kill-to-death ratio and was the top scorer on the winning HUMAN team. Gearbox has scheduled Aliens: Colonial Marines for a February 13th release date on the Xbox 360, PS3, and PC. A Wii U version is planned but is currently without a release date.
More GR previews for this game:
Aliens: Colonial Marines preview posted on 12/17/12.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Aliens: Colonial Marines


More On GameRevolution