More Reviews
REVIEWS The Last of Us Remastered Review
Sony and Naughty Dog have revisited the PlayStation 3 opus to bring an enhanced vision of the game to PlayStation 4, but should you return to Joel and Ellie’s story so soon?

God of War Collection (Vita) Review
God of War brings its PS2 heritage to Vita, and the results are more than a bit baffling.
More Previews
PREVIEWS UemeU Preview
Giving the power to the players to build the games they want to play, UemeU opens up the sandbox to a larger degree than previous games, with intuitive tools, cooperative building, and very few restrictions.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

MotoGP 14
Release date: 09/01/14


LATEST FEATURES Buy, Try, or Die: August 2014 Release List
Sacred 3, Disgaea 4, inFamous: First Light, Madden NFL 15—what will you Buy, what will you Try, and what needs to Die?

The Best Cosplay of Comic-Con 2014
Comic-Con is the premier convention for cosplayers, and we've got more than a hundred shots this year. Which are your favorites?
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oneshotstop
Call of Duty will never be the same
By oneshotstop
Posted on 07/28/14
       We've all been there. Everyone remembers that mission. You and your partner are climbing up the mountains in the snow, striving to pull some slick clandestine operation about getting some intel on a bad guy, or something similar (because let's face...

Aliens: Colonial Marines Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/06/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 12 
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Gearbox Software 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

This is my weapon...


In an E3 booth tour, you miss out on some of the things less-employed gamers see. While waiting for a turn to play the Aliens: Colonial Marines multiplayer demo, some of the folks who had waited in line for an hour figured out an entire strategy to the deathmatch we were about to join.

Colonial Marines pits a team of humans against a team of Aliens. The developers took over the Aliens while journalists and show-goers equipped themselves with asault rifles and shotguns.


"We're going to all go with shotguns."

"What?" I replied. The guy who had been waiting in line told me that they'd been watching humans get torn apart by the developer-controlled enemies this entire time. Normally in a demo like this I would have gone with the default assault rifle loadout.

"OK," I said. Sitting down and putting on the headphones, I scrolled the loadout cursor over to one of the shotgun classes available and based my choice on the one that looked the most badass. It turned out the firearm was a rapid-fire model with a fast reload rate.

I absolutely panicked at the first sight of an alien opponent, instinctively unloading my shotty in the enemy's ugly face. The Aliens can climb on the ceiling and leap large distances. If they can keep the human soldiers from getting a bead on them, the Alien team have every opportunity to tear the humans to shreds.


Luckily, our team stuck together and scanned every nook and cranny for the bastards. Shotgun in hand, I dolled out violent retribution to every Gearbox employee in virtual sight. It's always nice to walk away from a demo with a win, but my time with Aliens: Colonial Marines was particularly sweet.

I held down a 1.5 kill-to-death ratio and was the top scorer on the winning HUMAN team. Gearbox has scheduled Aliens: Colonial Marines for a February 13th release date on the Xbox 360, PS3, and PC. A Wii U version is planned but is currently without a release date.
More GR previews for this game:
Aliens: Colonial Marines preview posted on 12/17/12.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Aliens: Colonial Marines


More On GameRevolution