More Reviews
REVIEWS NBA LIVE 15 Review
Yes, NBA Live was horrible last year. But this year's entry is a vast improvement. Just give it a try.

Dungeon of the Endless Review
A roguelike that’s equal parts charming and challenging with a turn-based twist.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Resident Evil Revelations 2 Preview
Capcom returns to the episodic format that entertained us in the first game of the sub series published on Nintendo 3DS and followed with a console release. What will Claire and company uncover this time?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP LinksOcarina This is another article from Blistered Thumbs I wrote, back from the dead after being buried in the way-back machine. I posted this back in April of 2013, and many of the issues present seem to be prevalent right now in some cases, namely the decrees of sexism and misogony. Considering current...

Anomaly: Warzone Earth Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
01/31/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RTS 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Microsoft Game Studios 
DEVELOPER 11 bit studios 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Fantasy Violence, Language

What do these ratings mean?

Reverse tower defense? Wait, wouldn’t that be trench capitulation?


“It’s reverse tower defense,” senior writer at 11 bit studios, Pawel Miechowski, tells me, adding that a better name might be “tower attack”or “tower offense”. It’s a little counter-intuitive at first, but after sitting down with the Xbox Live Arcade version of Anomaly: Warzone Earth for an hour, I wondered why the idea hadn’t caught on sooner. The game turns the tables on the tower defense genre, allowing you to play as a commander of one of the “waves” of enemies, making tactical decisions as you make your way through alien towers.

Previously released on Steam, iOS, and most recently Android, the game puts you in control of a caravan of military forces investigating an alien artifact that begins spawning, uh, defense towers. Limiting the movement to paved roads, a tactical view pauses the game and allows the player to change the direction of their caravan at intersections, plotting new paths as conditions and goals change. During this view, navigation in this view automatically snaps to the nearest intersection, making it a fast and easy process.



While the game may have been styled as “reverse tower defense”, you still purchase and upgrade units in a similar way to traditional tower defense, spending money achieved from destroying towers or gathering resources. The game has an active element during its real-time section with an on-foot commander who can gather resources drops from planes and destroyed towers, and execute special abilities. It’s a similar role to the little Tiki-guy in Pixeljunk Monsters, if he could put up a smoke screen or call in an airstrike.

The vehicles available in the caravan vary in armor and firepower, maintaining a solid balance, with more expensive vehicles having better qualities of both. For example, the most expensive vehicle, The Dragon, is a large tank with flamethrowers that can attack to either side of the road, whereas the two weakest are the heavily armored but poorly armed APC and the four-legged tank, the Crawler. While I enjoyed my experience in early tutorials and one of the game’s two horde modes, I was glad when Miechowski took the controller to show me the diverse enemies towers from later levels: The Scorcher, which fires a strong beam in a single direction; the Particular Hacker, which creates a circular area inside which your own units attack the commander; and Stormraids, that shoot a chain of electricity down the length of the caravan.



In addition to the campaign, there are two of the aforementioned hoard modes, Baghdad Mayhem and Tokyo Raid, where the game randomly spawns enemy towers and a power generator as a target, with the towers becoming progressively more advanced and numerous as the mode continues. Exclusive to the Xbox 360 version are Tactical Trials, challenge maps that take place in a virtual environment that Miechowski likens to Metal Gear Solid’s virtual missions. These missions are puzzles that involve finding the right line to take that will deliver the assets necessary to make it through the map successfully.

From my brief time with the game, its novel concept, strong execution, and a heavy dose of polish, I could see that there’s no mystery why 11 bit studios is bringing Anomaly: Warzone Earth to Xbox Live Arcade. When I asked, Miechowski told me he hoped that it would share the same price-point as it does on Steam, $9.99, but that the price for the Xbox 360 would ultimately be up to corporate overlords at Microsoft. Expect it to arrive on April 8, 2011.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Anomaly: Warzone Earth


More On GameRevolution