More Reviews
REVIEWS PAC-MAN and the Ghostly Adventur Review
Is the entire Ghostly Adventures series, including the TV show, a prequel to the rest of Pac-Man’s life? Because in my childhood I seem to remember Pac having a girlfriend and a kid, not worrying about Pac-puberty.

NBA LIVE 15 Review
Yes, NBA Live was horrible last year. But this year's entry is a vast improvement. Just give it a try.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Resident Evil Revelations 2 Preview
Capcom returns to the episodic format that entertained us in the first game of the sub series published on Nintendo 3DS and followed with a console release. What will Claire and company uncover this time?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP LinksOcarina This is another article from Blistered Thumbs I wrote, back from the dead after being buried in the way-back machine. I posted this back in April of 2013, and many of the issues present seem to be prevalent right now in some cases, namely the decrees of sexism and misogony. Considering current...

Assassin's Creed III Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/11/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ubisoft 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

You've got to take a mile to gain an inch.


These Templar assholes just won't stop. It wasn't enough that they were beaten back in the Middle Ages or that a young Italian playboy managed to best them on their own turf. Now they're in the new world causing trouble and using the Revolutionary War as a means to securing a seat of power.

That won't be an easy task, what with the player and Assassin Creed III's new protagonist, Connor, on the watch. Not much has been revealed following our last preview of the title, but several new gameplay elements were shown off at E3 2012, each of which worth mentioning.


At Ubisoft's press conference, developers from Montreal played the game live for all to see, showcasing the wilderness gameplay that would envelop the space between Boston and New York. Connor climbed trees, hunted game, and fought off wolves in the snow. Every time we see our new Assassin avatar clambering up into the forest heights, I'm amazed at how well the traversal mechanic works.

The real improvement here become evident when you realize that Connor doesn't have to stupidly scale sheer walls like his ancestors did in Forli and Venice. Moving in these ancient cities is best when you do so at a breathless pace, and the wilderness setting seems to be completely out of breath.


Immediately following this gameplay demo, Sony decided to showcase more Assassin's Creed III at their press conference. This time, the live gameplay demo put a three-point hat on Connor and gave him the wheel on a high-seas vessel.

It might just be one of the hallmark set-pieces Assassin's Creed is known for, but fighting off an attacking ship provided for plenty of explosive moments. Perhaps Captain Connor can engage in these sequences when fast traveling between Boston and New York? Regardless, the scene crescendoed to a fever pitch as Connor's merry brotherhood boarded the enemy ship and forcefully persuaded the other crew to abandon ship.


Our final look at the game came behind closed doors at Ubisoft's E3 Booth. Showcasing side missions and general city gameplay, the Boston demo gave us a look at the way AnvilNEXT provides for enhanced crowds and reactions from civilians and enemies.

You can also choose specific Brotherhood actions in ACIII, allowing for more nuanced support from recruited Assassins. In order to pass through a red cost checkpoint, Connor called two disguised Brotherhood members to escort him through as a captive.

Assassin's Creed III is set for an October 30th release on Xbox 360, PS3, and PC. A Wii U version is planned, but details have been sparse. The PS3 version of ACIII will connect with the PlayStation Vita's ACIII: Liberation, but look for those detail in our Liberation preview.


More GR previews for this game:
GDC 2012 Preview posted on 03/26/12.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Assassin's Creed III


More On GameRevolution