More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag - Freedom Cry Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
12/13/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ubisoft Quebec 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M What do these ratings mean?

Adéwalé Unchained.

Adéwalé is not a man you want to cross. He's imposing, ruthless, and unflinching. Given the choice between fighting him or Edward Kenway, I would gladly take my chances against the scrawny white dude, not the man who could hack my neck with a machete or possibly stare at me to death.



Adéwalé was born a slave, ordered to work on a plantation until he escaped when pirates randomly pillaged the farm and soon became the first mate upon Kenway's Jackdaw. About a decade and a half after the events of Black Flag, Adéwalé has become a fully-trained Assassin who returns to the West Indies in Freedom Cry on what seems to be a routine mission, but soon transforms into a personal journey that forces him to confront his past. Left shipwrecked in the West Indies (in current-day Haiti) near Port-au-Prince in 1735, he loses his crew and weapons, which leads him to uncover the local resistance along the outskirts of the city. Slowly but surely, he becomes embroiled in a struggle to liberate the slaves from the oppressive rule of the French imperialists.

Most of Assassin's Creed IV: Freedom Cry will be familiar to fans of Black Flag, which you will need to access this standalone DLC, with the exception that nearly all of the objectives have been given the twist of freeing slaves and fellow Maroons. Doing so will build the local resistance, unlocking story missions and earning Adéwalé free upgrades along the way. You can certainly explore the West Indies in search of treasure, synchronize at high points on the map (a different melody plays when he synchronizes), and raid ships using Adéwalé's Experto Crede. But rescuing slaves from cruel punishment, jails, slave auctions, and plantations (where you'll hear authentic African work songs) will be your main charge. Similarly, on the sea, you can stop slave ships from pulling into port to build your ranks, but without damaging them to the point that you kill the slaves onboard.



Befitting Adéwalé's intimidating stature and seething self-control are two new weapons: the blunderbuss and machete. Both instruments are meant to reflect the same level of cruelty as the slave owners inflicted upon him as a child. The machete, a common tool given to slaves for work in the fields, is an extremely powerful melee weapon, which only grows in strength when upgraded to the steel machete. The blunderbuss acts as a prototype shotgun that can eviscerate multiple enemies at short range, but needs to be reloaded between every shot and creates a substantial amount of noise. Of course, if neither option works for you, Adéwalé has access to the familiar arsenal of hidden blades, darts of all varieties, and smoke bombs to, shall we say, emancipate the area.

Featuring a four-hour single-player campaign and many more hours of exploration, Freedom Cry will release on December 17 for $9.99 on PS3, PS4, Xbox 360, Xbox One, and PC.
More GR previews for this game:
Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag - Freedom Cry preview posted on 12/13/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag - Freedom Cry


More On GameRevolution