More Reviews
REVIEWS Firefall Review
Repetitive gameplay makes this fall a little boring.

The Walking Dead: Season Two Review
At this point, you’re not coming back for the zombies. Let’s get down to business.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Nosgoth Preview
What do you get when you mix vampires and vampire hunters? Three-on-three class-based combat in the Legacy of Kain universe.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Destiny
Release date: 09/09/14

FIFA 15
Release date: 09/23/14

Ar Nosurge: Ode to an Unborn Star
Release date: 09/23/14

Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14


LATEST FEATURES And I Was All "Hell Yeah I'll Play a New Dreamcast Game"
I just played a Dreamcast game that was released in... wait, 2014?

A Comprehensive Guide to Dealing with Controversy in the Video Game Industry
Need help wading through the latest misogyny/homophobia/racism/corruption debate in the gaming industry? Paul Tamburro’s here to help!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP samsmith614 Since game design is a business, I decided to see what's really selling well for the PS4. I did this search a week ago, and at the time, out of the top 20 bestsellers on Amazon 10 had not even been released yet. By now some have been released. But others still have not. And yet others...

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/18/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action/Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ubisoft Montreal 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

No rum for me, it's stabbing time.

While I like to think that I've become a master at online assassinations on friends and foes alike, Ubisoft Montreal and Ubisoft Annecy don't want newcomers to feel the sting of experienced hidden blades like mine, at least not without the opportunity to feel successful themselves. During my guided tour of Ubisoft's E3 booth, I got an opportunity get hands-on with Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag's multiplayer component well ahead of release.

You probably already know that AC multiplayer revolves around careful, measured play. Pursuing targets too aggressively might give you away to anyone assigned to end your own life, and higher point values are assigned to stealthy and stylish kills. Since Brotherhood, I've been hooked on the idea that killing more than your competition doesn't guarantee a 1st-place finish, and that aerial assassinations or poisoning your target without them knowing can rocket you to the top of the leader board. Thankfully, the team that won the Bischoff Award for Multiplayer Excellence (which I totally just made up) hopes to push the formula forward and meet the needs of a growing player base with Game Lab.

Game Lab allows users to completely customize the way an AC multiplayer match plays out. You can change the rules or combine game types to create your own personal flavor. If you want the teams of Manhunt, but not the strict hide-vs-seek discrete rounds, you can do that. One match type created by the development team only awarded points for gun kills, making for a deliberate third-person shooting experience. If you want to completely eliminate the kill-specific scoring, you can do that too. A 1200-point hidden-poison kill can now equal 1 single point, forcing players to completely rethink their strategies to meet each match type.

That's what I was met with when I finally went hands-on. Generally, I prefer stalking my prey, playing patiently and going for high-scoring assassinations above anything else. The standard Wanted mode eventually pushes players like me to move and react faster, especially when three or four players have all been assigned to kill the guy in the lead. Still, my reluctance with this new custom mode put me at a huge deficit.

An Ubi developer leading the match knew how to react to the new rule set and immediately began sprinting around, alerting other players to his position. At first I thought this was an odd choice, but when you strip AC multiplayer of different point values, it doesn't matter if another player can spot you as human out of all the AI doubles—it only matters if you strike fast and frequently. In this particular match, players were awarded one point for every stun, every ground finish, and every kill, while contesting a kill meant that neither player received a point.

I started to get to the hang of this mode's rhythm and betrayed my silent-stalker sensibilities to climb to higher vantage points. From the few rooftops in the Caribbean map, I could spot my target and see aggressive attackers headed my way. As they scaled the walls, I was able to jump off and pursue my own victim, losing my own tail in the process. Game Lab was already making a meaningful impact on the way I played AC multiplayer.

By forcing experienced assassins like me to step out of their comfort zones, Ubisoft Annecy will keep the frantic circle-stabbing at a level that welcomes new players and challenges old-hands. Properly implemented with the rest of AC's community and competitive features, Game Lab will reinvigorate the experience and drive players to continue hunting with creative new game types and challenges. I ducked out of Assassin's Creed III's multiplayer earlier than I had expected, but Game Lab takes the basic blocks that made me fall in love way back in Brotherhood and twists them to create meaningful new competitive rulesets.

Assassin's Creed IV is set to release on October 29, 2013 in North America for PS3, Xbox 360, Wii U, and PC, and will be available for PlayStation 4, and Xbox One in Q4 2013.

More GR previews for this game:
Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag preview posted on 09/30/13.
Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag preview posted on 08/31/13.
Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag preview posted on 02/27/13.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag


More On GameRevolution