More Reviews
REVIEWS LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.

This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Assassin's Creed: Revelations Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
09/30/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action/Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ubisoft 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Language, Mild Sexual Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Check out our Assassin's Creed: Revelations Multiplayer VIDEO PREVIEW



Relevant information notwithstanding, what's AC: Revelations all about?


We're hotly anticipating the fourth entry in the Assassin's Creed series from Ubisoft, and I can't help but spoil the ending of Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood for everyone I meet. What the hell is wrong with me?

No.

What the hell is wrong with you? Why haven't you finished the excellent continuation of Ezio's story? You'd better hurry because Revelations is about ready to wrap up the loose ends left behind by the Auditore clan. At PAX, Alexandre Amancio walked us through the Gamescom demo of the game. He dispatched guards by planting bombs on dead bodies, by throwing bombs directly at would-be pursuers, and by lobbing bombs like grenades.

Amancio explained that the bomb-crafting system was created to incentivize looting all the bodies and treasure chests Ezio will come across. In previous Assassin's Creed games, you could only sell the goodies you picked up off your victims, but collecting these materials in Revelations and proceeding to a bomb-crafting table will let you tailor your weaponry to your upcoming trials and tribulations.

Amancio quickly dismantled some bombs he had already constructed and used the materials to create new hand grenades that he could drop in the middle of a chase to slow down pursuers. The crafting menus loaded quickly and materials fluidly moved between one type of bomb to the next.

The Gamescom demo allowed Ezio to hunt and kill a Templar agent, though Amancio said that the particular Templar underneath Ezio's blade was brought forward simply to show off an Altaïr section of the game. Ezio is hunting these Templar and historical artifacts to experience pieces of Altaïr's life.

The demo then took us to a section of Altaïr's life before the events in Assassin's Creed 1. A Templar agent, confirmed for the game's multiplayer mode, had taken Altaïr's master hostage and the player had to scale a wall to save him. Amancio noted several different paths the player could take and then proceeded to parkour across the ramparts and land on the Templar agent, hidden blade at the ready.

Multiplayer mode improvements aside, Assassin's Creed: Revelations seems to refocus on the story, bringing several loose ends to a close, all while setting up the next in the fan-favorite Ubisoft series. You can preorder now and pick the game up at retail on November 15th, 2011 for PS3, Xbox 360, and PC.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Assassin's Creed: Revelations