More Reviews
REVIEWS The Evil Within Review
Developer Shinji Mikami wishes for the survival-horror genre. Does The Evil Within make a case?

Defense Grid 2 Review
Hidden Path Entertainment offer up this sequel to one of the originators of tower defense gaming, with tons of modes for alien-blasting aficionados.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: 10/21/14

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Bras
On small farewells
By Bras
Posted on 10/14/14
Hello people I know and people I do not know, people with whom I have interacted at some point and people who happen to be here for a random reason involving boredom.  I have gathered you here so I can say one thing to your face before (some of…? Anyone hopefully?) you figure it...

Atelier Meruru: The Apprentice of Arland Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
04/04/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER NIS America 
DEVELOPER Gust 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Fantasy Violence, Mild Language, Partial Nudity, Suggestive Themes, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

Sugar takes on many forms, like saccharine.


And this is about as sweet as games get. Any game that has a player take on the role of an adorable animé girl with shiny, pink hair, then has that girl fight bunnies with carrots in hand (appropriately named "carrot bunnies")that has to up the blood pressure, right?



And that's what the Atelier family has always done: cute characters, pretty environments, and a whole lot of alchemy. This time, players take on the role of a princess escaping the castle she lives in to study alchemy.

In order to study, she'll have to find all the appropriate materials and start mixing herself, andone would assumesave the world from bad guys in the process. And with similarly adorable friends met along the way, players should be ready to take on all comers… fuzzy or otherwise.



For fans of super-cute RPGs, Atelier Meruru should be a fun fit. The battle system is classically menu-based, but still has an action element; enemies might attack out of turn, so the option to defend and even bring in another character to take the damage is available. The demo was short, with characters fighting very weak monsters, but for a classic RPG it looks like a pretty throwback to the past.

Look for the insatiable cuteness to hit the US sometime in May 2012. That should help to curb that sweet tooth for the classically-minded!

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Atelier Meruru: The Apprentice of Arland


More On GameRevolution