More Reviews
REVIEWS Boo Bunny Plague Review
If you think you can enjoy the definition of budget game design, this one might make you laugh.

Minimum Review
With so many shooters crowding the marketplace, it’s refreshing to see Minimum take the low-fi route through Steam Early Access.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Atelier Rorona: The Alchemist of Arland Preview

Chris_Hudak By:
Chris_Hudak
03/13/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER NIS America 
DEVELOPER Gust 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Fantasy Violence, Language, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

I Still Know What You'll Make This Summer.


Ah, the 'alchemic RPG'. Here in the States, it's still something of a fairly lesser-known indulgence—on the order of deliberately paying a restaurant tab with two-dollar bills, dating a ganguro girl on your overseas vacation, actually turning off your personal electronics when the stewardess asks you to, or some equally-oddball activity. (BTW: Yes, yes, and yes, and just don't even ask.)

click to enlargeIn Japan, it's the kind of game that will chart a dramatic sell-out on Day One in Akihabara—and in fact, that's exactly what the Japanese release of Atelier Rorona: Alchemist of Arland did. If its Stateside release gets anywhere near the scores of its Japanese counterpart, why, many gamers might even temporarily forget to check on just what the hell 'atelier' even means.

As with previous games in the series, Atelier Rorona is an alchemic RPG—meaning that the core gameplay maintains the alchemy-based, item-crafting traditions of the earlier games, along with the use of alchemy to fight enemies. Characters, storylines, and background will still retain their heavily animé-influenced approaches, of course—it is a Gust/NIS title, after all—and will also sport a newer cel-shaded style to the animation.

While Atelier Rorona is the eleventh—read it again, eleventh—game in the series, it is also the very first installment developed for the PlayStation 3 platform; and while the previous games employed strictly 2D sprites, Rorona will finally utilize true 3D graphics. Atelier Rorona will offer a mix of four types of gameplay, including 'field' world-maps, the series' now-obligatory alchemy system, the good old standby Battle Screen, and last but not least a 'visual novel' component. (NIS America seems to be on a slow but certain campaign to introduce this latter game-form to the North American market -- most faithfully and blatantly in the form of their forthcoming release Disgaea Infinite.)

Players move about the game world in static-art maps which illustrate the town of Arland (not Arlen—that's a completely different game, I tell you what) as well as nearby locales. The 'field' maps depict the town, the surrounding forests, and other settings as more physically-tangible, realistic environments in which player-character can collect items (there are also over 100 special items to craft), talk to NPCs, and come across enemies. Unlike large numbers of other RPGs, Atelier Rorona allows the player to see potential enemies on the field-map view—and thus gives him/her the option to avoid certain hostile encounters altogether. If the player chooses to face the enemy, the aforementioned Battle Screen comes into play.

click to enlargeThankfully, Atelier Rorona has not fallen to the seemingly-epidemic scourge of Formerly Turn-Based RPGs Suddenly Going Annoyingly Real-Time For No Readily Apparent Reason™. Rorona's battles will be turn-based—traditionally so, in fact, to what we shall call, for lack of a better term, a 'fault'—and rage in the tried-and-true, back-and-forth fashion, with fallen party members 'fainting' off one by one in battle while the others fight on. Should the worst happen to the entire party, the player simply winds up back in town—defeated and lumped-up, but wiser. Perhaps the old ways are, in fact, best.

The Atelier Rorona story is broken up into a dozen or so segments, each representing three months of in-game time. For each segment, players either will or will not complete a designated Task within this fixed 'time limit'; if they fail, it's a game-ender, requiring a fresh start from an earlier game-save. While the majority of the plot moves via 'visual novel' elements that involve a bare minimum of per-se interaction—it's mostly a text/dialogue affair, with occasional decision points—the overall game also has over a dozen primary plot lines... which translates to some incentive to replay the game, tackling different tasks for the game's full cast of characters.

While the Japanese version released in June 2009, the North American and European versions are slated to hit this summer. In fact, if you somehow managed to locate, pay for, and plow through one back-catalog Atelier Series game every week or two, starting right now, you might even be completely up to series-universe speed by Rorona's launch day. But you'd also be one exhausted animé-styled puppy, and between you and me, it doesn't sound like a good idea. We'll conjure up our own Full Alchemic Review when Atelier Rorona ships for North American gamers in June 2010.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Atelier Rorona: The Alchemist of Arland


More On GameRevolution