More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14


LATEST FEATURES Interview: Forging the Rings of Power in Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor
Tolkien fans may now either squeal with glee at getting to play interactive fanfiction... or condemn it to the watery grave of Numenor.

How Bioware Creates Romances
Bioware's games have romances where you might save the world, on the side of course.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

BandFuse: Rock Legends Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
02/07/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Rhythm / Music 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Mastiff 
DEVELOPER Realta Entertainment 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Lyrics, Mild Blood, Mild Violence, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol and Tobacco

What do these ratings mean?

Not just the second string.

The peripheral-based rhythm genre is by and large an endangered species. The oversaturation of Guitar Heroes and Rock Bands eventually wore itself out, turning cluttered living rooms into cluttered closets. Don't dispute me... I have one of those closets.

What remains of this rock-tastic era are seemingly endless DLC packs for Rock Band 3 and several attempts at simulation-based rhythm games like Ubisoft's Rocksmith, which is compatible with nearly every real guitar on the market. On a similar front, Realta Entertainment's upcoming BandFuse: Rock Legends attempts to accomplish the same thing but with a conscious design derived from a musician's perspective.



Though its similarities to Rocksmith are numerous, in the one-hour hands-on demo I had with BandFuse, it already feels like the better option for anyone hoping to learn guitar techniques and notation, if just for the reduced latency of only 20 milliseconds. Instead of scrolling notes toward the player on a slanted 3-dimensional plane, BandFuse moves notes simply in a side-scrolling fashion, providing the correct tablature and fingering without hitting players over the head with them. Stick with BandFuse long enough and players can easily translate their sightreading skills over to actual tablature.

Each difficulty carefully guides players from easy, which only involves a few notes and strings, to the hardest setting, which comes replete with palm mutes, slides, vibratos, and natural harmonics. All of these techniques are explained in the Shred U section of the game, sometimes with instructional videos from Slash, Nancy Wilson, Zakk Wylde, or Five Finger Death Punch. For several particularly tricky riffs, there will be videos with a zoomed-in camera on a guitarist's hands so that players can nail down the technique and the tone.

Though I only have rudimentary experience with a real guitar and with Rocksmith, I was able to knock off 91% of a song on the easiest setting. That said, earning stars, points, and a high multiplier isn't the point here as much as pinning down the rhythm and clarity of each note. I'm not yet permitted to reveal certain parts of the tracklist nor how extensive Practice mode will be, but suffice it to say, BandFuse has everything a player needs to become a shredder. It even has a polyphonic tuner and plenty of amps, pedals, and tone options, all unlocked from the very start.



BandFuse has a lighter side as well. Supporting up to four players, with two on guitar, one on bass, and one on vocals, it easily translates to parties. Vocals work pretty much exactly like they do in Rock Band and can be switched to karaoke mode, and doing poorly on any instrument doesn't fail a song or drop that person out. The tracklist announced so far has a strong range, from The Strokes and Alanis Morissette, to Judas Priest, Pantera, and Rush. In total, Realta Entertainment plans a list of 55 songs overall, with DLC packs arriving after release.

BandFuse is slated for Early Spring 2013 on Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3. In addition to the standalone game, Realta Entertainment plans to release bundles that include a Squier Stratocaster, with no plans on bundles with a bass. It should cost around $150-200, but that's just an educated guess.
More GR previews for this game:
BandFuse: Rock Legends preview posted on 10/25/13.
BandFuse: Rock Legends preview posted on 06/18/13.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about BandFuse: Rock Legends


More On GameRevolution