More Reviews
REVIEWS Five Nights at Freddy's Review
So damn scary, I had to break every ten minutes just writing this review.

InFamous: First Light Review
Sony’s open-world action game gets new life with a blast from Sucker Punch who’ve got a story dedicated to neon-powered Fetch and her brother.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Preview
Sid Meier's Civilization is boldly going where... it has gone once before in Alpha Centauri. But that was more than 15 years ago. We should know more about the future now, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Madden NFL 15
Release date: Out Now

Destiny
Release date: 09/09/14

Ar Nosurge: Ode to an Unborn Star
Release date: 09/23/14

FIFA 15
Release date: 09/23/14


LATEST FEATURES inFamous: First Light Battle Arena Hints, Strategies, Tips [Stream Over]
Watch as I build out our feature of useful tactics for players in Sucker Punch's wave-based and arcade-awesome arena mode.

The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP KevinS
RIP Robin Williams (1951-2014)
By KevinS
Posted on 08/14/14
Robin Williams (1951-2014) Robin Williams was an absolutely exceptional comedian, talented actor, and holder of a special place in video game history: He was the first really famous gamer I know of. I’m sure there were others, but they kept a comparatively low profile, unlike one...

BandFuse: Rock Legends Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
02/07/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Rhythm / Music 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Mastiff 
DEVELOPER Realta Entertainment 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Lyrics, Mild Blood, Mild Violence, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol and Tobacco

What do these ratings mean?

Not just the second string.

The peripheral-based rhythm genre is by and large an endangered species. The oversaturation of Guitar Heroes and Rock Bands eventually wore itself out, turning cluttered living rooms into cluttered closets. Don't dispute me... I have one of those closets.

What remains of this rock-tastic era are seemingly endless DLC packs for Rock Band 3 and several attempts at simulation-based rhythm games like Ubisoft's Rocksmith, which is compatible with nearly every real guitar on the market. On a similar front, Realta Entertainment's upcoming BandFuse: Rock Legends attempts to accomplish the same thing but with a conscious design derived from a musician's perspective.



Though its similarities to Rocksmith are numerous, in the one-hour hands-on demo I had with BandFuse, it already feels like the better option for anyone hoping to learn guitar techniques and notation, if just for the reduced latency of only 20 milliseconds. Instead of scrolling notes toward the player on a slanted 3-dimensional plane, BandFuse moves notes simply in a side-scrolling fashion, providing the correct tablature and fingering without hitting players over the head with them. Stick with BandFuse long enough and players can easily translate their sightreading skills over to actual tablature.

Each difficulty carefully guides players from easy, which only involves a few notes and strings, to the hardest setting, which comes replete with palm mutes, slides, vibratos, and natural harmonics. All of these techniques are explained in the Shred U section of the game, sometimes with instructional videos from Slash, Nancy Wilson, Zakk Wylde, or Five Finger Death Punch. For several particularly tricky riffs, there will be videos with a zoomed-in camera on a guitarist's hands so that players can nail down the technique and the tone.

Though I only have rudimentary experience with a real guitar and with Rocksmith, I was able to knock off 91% of a song on the easiest setting. That said, earning stars, points, and a high multiplier isn't the point here as much as pinning down the rhythm and clarity of each note. I'm not yet permitted to reveal certain parts of the tracklist nor how extensive Practice mode will be, but suffice it to say, BandFuse has everything a player needs to become a shredder. It even has a polyphonic tuner and plenty of amps, pedals, and tone options, all unlocked from the very start.



BandFuse has a lighter side as well. Supporting up to four players, with two on guitar, one on bass, and one on vocals, it easily translates to parties. Vocals work pretty much exactly like they do in Rock Band and can be switched to karaoke mode, and doing poorly on any instrument doesn't fail a song or drop that person out. The tracklist announced so far has a strong range, from The Strokes and Alanis Morissette, to Judas Priest, Pantera, and Rush. In total, Realta Entertainment plans a list of 55 songs overall, with DLC packs arriving after release.

BandFuse is slated for Early Spring 2013 on Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3. In addition to the standalone game, Realta Entertainment plans to release bundles that include a Squier Stratocaster, with no plans on bundles with a bass. It should cost around $150-200, but that's just an educated guess.
More GR previews for this game:
BandFuse: Rock Legends preview posted on 10/25/13.
BandFuse: Rock Legends preview posted on 06/18/13.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about BandFuse: Rock Legends


More On GameRevolution