More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES ESCAPE Dead Island
Release date: Out Now

Far Cry 4
Release date: Out Now

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

BandFuse: Rock Legends Preview

Jessica_Vazquez By:
Jessica_Vazquez
06/18/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Rhythm / Music 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Mastiff 
DEVELOPER Realta Entertainment 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Lyrics, Mild Blood, Mild Violence, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol and Tobacco

What do these ratings mean?

Fusing a well-rounded musical experience.
 
The first thing I was told about this game when I got to demo Bandfuse: Rock Legends at E3 was that the only thing it had in common with Rocksmith is that you use a real guitar to play it. They couldn’t have been more right. Realta Entertainment may have solved the mystery of how to make learning a guitar through a video game fun for everyone.

The major benefits of this game are evident right at the start. All amp tones and songs are available as soon as you start up the game for the first time. By removing restrictions that were set in previous music games like Rocksmith and Rock Band, it will create an environment where you won’t feel penalized for not being a good musician right out of the gate. This game is all about accessibilty for all skill types, and they don't want players struggling to get through songs they don't want to play just to unlock a song they love.



There is no required special mode to play around with different amp tones because you can hear your guitar while in every menu of the game, not just when you're playing a song. You can also control the speed and difficulty manually for every song at all times, and when you do poorly there aren’t any annoying noises or sounds of a crowd booing to take away from the experience. Unlike games that overlook the vocal aspect and incorporate it as an afterthought, Bandfuse: Rock Legends allows you to use amp tones to modify your vocal styling as well as your guitar. Couple that with the fact that every song is accompanied by the original music video and you've got one kick-ass karaoke machine.

Better yet, the notes are displayed in a traditional tablature format most guitarists should be familiar with, especially if you ever used websites like ultimateguitartabs.com to look up how to play a song. The six-string display scrolls from right to left with each string displayed in front of you from the low E-string on the bottom all the way up to the high E-string. Having come off of primarily playing Rocksmith the past year, it was a little difficult for me to adjust back to reading traditional tabs, but within the span of about twenty minutes I got the hang of it. All I had to do was lower the difficulty setting for a bit to get a feel of where a majority of notes were in a song before rasing the difficulty and continuing.

The notes in the tab layout are also color-coded in reference to the Rock Band guitar controller so that it will be familiar to the players coming from that background. So you not only get a designated number telling you which fret and string to play a note on, but you also have a color associated with it that will let you know which finger to use when playing it. This function will help get players used to proper hand placement and movement when playing different songs.



Other features that I particularly liked were the practice modes. You can break up each section of a song and practice them individually however you want by controlling the speed more freely than any game has every allowed before. The Note for Note mode was the one I liked the most—a no-frills playback mode that stops each time you miss a note and waits for you to play it correctly. There’s also a series of Skills Lab videos that show a real guitarist performing certain basic and advanced techniques, so you can see the full view of how someone normally performes them accompanied by a slowed-down view displaying the exact hand motions that are necessary. The videos in this section have a unique personal style to them I appreciated, especially since I’m used to getting most of my guitar tips from YouTube videos these days.

Bandfuse is exactly what guitar players of any skill level should be looking to buy if they want to work their way up or just hone their talents. Considering that Bandfuse: Rock Legends is incredibly accessible and can be played with up to four players from the starttwo guitars, one bass, and a vocalistyou’ll be well on your way to a proper jam session if you get this game when it launches this Fall holiday season on Xbox 360 and PS3.
More GR previews for this game:
BandFuse: Rock Legends preview posted on 02/07/13.
BandFuse: Rock Legends preview posted on 02/07/13.
BandFuse: Rock Legends preview posted on 10/25/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about BandFuse: Rock Legends