More Reviews
REVIEWS Firefall Review
Repetitive gameplay makes this fall a little boring.

The Walking Dead: Season Two Review
At this point, you’re not coming back for the zombies. Let’s get down to business.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Nosgoth Preview
What do you get when you mix vampires and vampire hunters? Three-on-three class-based combat in the Legacy of Kain universe.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Destiny
Release date: 09/09/14

FIFA 15
Release date: 09/23/14

Ar Nosurge: Ode to an Unborn Star
Release date: 09/23/14

Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14


LATEST FEATURES And I Was All "Hell Yeah I'll Play a New Dreamcast Game"
I just played a Dreamcast game that was released in... wait, 2014?

A Comprehensive Guide to Dealing with Controversy in the Video Game Industry
Need help wading through the latest misogyny/homophobia/racism/corruption debate in the gaming industry? Paul Tamburro’s here to help!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP samsmith614 Since game design is a business, I decided to see what's really selling well for the PS4. I did this search a week ago, and at the time, out of the top 20 bestsellers on Amazon 10 had not even been released yet. By now some have been released. But others still have not. And yet others...

BandFuse: Rock Legends Preview

Jessica_Vazquez By:
Jessica_Vazquez
10/25/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Rhythm / Music 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Mastiff 
DEVELOPER Realta Entertainment 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Lyrics, Mild Blood, Mild Violence, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol and Tobacco

What do these ratings mean?

Hit me with your best shot.

I finally got my third chance to check out Bandfuse: Rock Legends firsthand and it continues to impress me. Although my experience was limited due to pre-launch availability of certain songs I was able to play a wider array of the setlist than I‘ve been able to on previous occasions. I was also able to play around with a few of the multiplayer aspects of the game.


The feature of multiplayer that surprised me the most was the implementation of vocals as one of the instruments in the game. Up until now, I had only heard people talk about it so getting a chance to actually see how well it worked within the game was a treat. Sure, in Rock Band you could connect a microphone and sing along, and in Rocksmith you could do the same but there were significant lag issues. With Bandfuse: Rock Legends you can plug in a microphone and alter the reverb, the pitch, and other effects in order to make the vocal performance more custom. I’m not a lead vocalist type myself, but the Karaoke factor is going to have a lot of mass appeal.
 
Although Bandfuse: Rock Legends and other games like it have a great party game appeal, there is always the issue of the learning curve. If someone can’t play guitar, then they will be very unlikely to want to play an authentic guitar game over a game where you press plastic buttons. One way Bandfuse: Rock Legends may be able to act as an effective gateway drug, so to speak, for people like this would be it’s “no fail” approach to gameplay. No matter how many notes you may miss or how off mark you may be at playing something, you are never prevented from playing through a song in its entirety. You don’t have to play each single note directly on the fret and you don’t have to be perfect; you just have to get through the songs and have a good time. 


The only portion of the game where there is a bit of a challenge is Tour Mode. You can earn money in tour mode by completing short concerts/festivals, where you can alter the setlists or participate in challenges. Some of the challenges include playing specific songs at a certain level and getting a 5-star rating or participating in Battle of the Band competitions. You earn fans and money as you go along and can unlock other tours by paying for them. It’s a nice touch, even if it only provides a minimal bit of realism. Aside from all of the game modes and the ways in which Bandfuse: Rock Legends promises to turn the authentic guitar video game into a more party-friendly learning tool, one of the greatest benefits is what it will provide gamers upon release. 
 
There will be three bundles available after the game launches on November 19, 2013. The Artist Pack priced at $69.99 will include a guitar cable and on the Xbox 360 will also include an additional audio adapter and headphone extension cable. The Band Pack is my personal favorite. For $79.99 you get two guitar cables, a Bandfuse microphone, multi-port instrument hub, and an acoustic guitar adapter for non-electric guitars. That’s right, folks, you don’t have to have an electric guitar to play this game. I haven’t been able to test it out for myself, so I’ll have to wait to see how effective it is. If you don’t already own a guitar, you can shell out some extra dough and get The Guitar Bundle for $199.99 $179.99, which will include an authentic Fender Squire guitar. This bundle’s release date is November 19, 2013. 
More GR previews for this game:
BandFuse: Rock Legends preview posted on 06/18/13.
BandFuse: Rock Legends preview posted on 02/07/13.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about BandFuse: Rock Legends


More On GameRevolution