More Reviews
REVIEWS The Evil Within Review
Developer Shinji Mikami wishes for the survival-horror genre. Does The Evil Within make a case?

Defense Grid 2 Review
Hidden Path Entertainment offer up this sequel to one of the originators of tower defense gaming, with tons of modes for alien-blasting aficionados.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: 10/21/14

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Bras
On small farewells
By Bras
Posted on 10/14/14
Hello people I know and people I do not know, people with whom I have interacted at some point and people who happen to be here for a random reason involving boredom.  I have gathered you here so I can say one thing to your face before (some of…? Anyone hopefully?) you figure it...

Batman: Arkham Asylum Preview

Blake_Morse By:
Blake_Morse
04/10/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Eidos Interactive 
DEVELOPER Rocksteady Studios 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Alcohol and Tobacco Reference, Blood, Mild Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

I am the bat!


There have been many shames along the walk of Batman history. To be fair, most of them were caused by Adam West. But the Batman films have had their moments of shame as well. I seem to recall a certain California Governor making an appearance in one of the poorer ones. While the last two movies have been much better, video games based off films have a way of being, shall we say, cursed. So why even bother trying to make a mediocre game in-cannon with the Dark Knight, especially when there's so much you can do with everything else? That's what the guys over at Rocksteady Studios thought too.

click to enlargeInstead of spewing out a half-assed title in the pursuit of film franchise exploitation, they've delivered a unique story and experience within the realm of Bat-mythology in the form of Arkhum Asylum. Arkhum is the home for the criminally insane of Gotham City. For some reason, they put people like Catwoman and The Riddler in there instead of throwing them in a maximum security prison... or just shooting them in the head.

One dark night, right after Bats delivers The Joker back to the crazy house, something goes terribly wrong. The Joker takes over the Asylum and lets all the locked up goons out to wreak havoc. Now it's up to you as Batman to take out every crazy ass criminal in a skin-tight leotard who's ever tried to blow him up, break his back, or feed him to sharks (thank goodness for bat-shark repellent).

You'll have to call upon all your skills as a detective and a crime fighter in order to restore order to the chaos. Things look to play out a lot like Syphon Filter, but because Batman thinks guns are for pussies, there will be more of an emphasis on hand-to-hand combat, rather than running and gunning. And since there's no brightly colored Robin to throw at the bad guys, you'll have to deal with the mobs of angry psychos all by yourself. In order to keep the action moving smoothly, they're incorporating a combat system called “FreeFlow”. It works similarly to the system used for The Watchmen: The End Is Nigh, in that there is an emphasis on timing and taking on large gangs.

click to enlargeFrom the small amount of hands-on time I had with the FreeFlow system, it seemed to run very fluidly, going from beating someone down to suddenly dodging out of the range of another thug and his flying 2x4, disarming him, then beating him down with the same 2x4. Your suit comes loaded with some impressive gadgets that you'll be able to upgrade along with your moves. And need I remind that this is Arkhum, where the baddest of the bad go? So on top of the generic tattooed hardened criminals, you'll also have to deal with folks like Killer Croc, Harley Quinn, and of course, the madman himself, The Joker.

So what's in the utility belt? Well, there's the classic Batarang along with some blast caps, X-ray specs... and a pheromone detector (?). I know the last one seems odd, but trust me, you're going to need it, because although Bat-kicking the living crap of criminals is part of your modus operandi, it's never been the key emphasis of your character. You're a sleuth at heart (Detective Comics ring a bell?) and that has not been forgotten. There will be investigations that take place in the form of in-game puzzles on top of all the physical action.

Along with the more intense fighting scenarios, there are also “Invisible Predator” levels. No, you don't pretend to be a 12-year old on the Internet luring perverts into a trap; instead, it will require you to use the darkness in order to pick off targets one by one [...ninja-style! ~Ed. Nick]. You can use the environment to set up blast traps or your grappling hook to get to higher ground and pounce down upon your victims. In fact, through most of the game if you can see it, you can reach it and interact with it.

click to enlargeThis is looking to be a game made for the hardcore comic book guy audience. And not only in the gritty, DC Comics-inspired looks. They went as far as getting some of the talent from the distinguishably super awesome Batman: The Animated Series of the 1990s to reprise their roles. Paul Dini, who has worked as a writer for the cartoon, has penned the game's script, and Mark “Luke Skywalker” Hamil once again provides the mad laughter of The Joker.

It's been a long time since there was a decent game featuring the man behind the mask with the pointy ears (I'm looking at you MK vs. DC). But Batman: Arkhum Asylum is looking to change things. Look for it to step out of the shadows this summer 2009 on the 360, PS3, and PC.
More GR previews for this game:
Batman: Arkham Asylum preview posted on 04/10/09.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Batman: Arkham Asylum


More On GameRevolution