More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Batman: Arkham Origins Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
08/01/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Warner Bros. Interactive 
DEVELOPER WB Games Montreal 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Drug Reference, Language, Mild Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Don't bat an eye.

Having not been assigned to see Batman: Arkham Origins during E3, I waited with bated breath to see what the hype was about, but I didn't expect to see an entirely new feature for the franchise at a private showing last week: multiplayer. And all of the boards are now aflame! You can almost feel the emanating heat coming from the accusations of "tacked-on" multiplayer, detracting from the awesome single-player experience. Batman, they'll say, would be shaking his head in silence.

But if the multiplayer selection from Assassin's Creed III is any example, an added multiplayer based on stealth and strategy might not be so terrible for the franchise. At best, it would offer a worthy distraction that introduces an interesting dynamic to the systems underlying the Batman Arkham gameplay, properly turning it on its head. Case in point, Invisible Predator Online is an asymmetric 3 vs. 3 vs. 2 domination-styled match.


I'm going to repeat that, because you probably have a question mark hanging above you. Invisible Predator takes the traditional concept of two teams, in this case a gang of three Joker hoodlums versus three Bane mercenaries, battling it out for control points on the map, and throws Batman and Robin into the fray just to scare the crap out of them. While being a member of a gang, combat is the more or less the usual third-person shooter fare with a cover system, an arsenal of guns and grenades, and several ammo crates strewn throughout the map. Each side has a stock of 25 reinforcements that drain with each kill on your side, more if the enemy has more control points than your team. If it reaches zero and your entire team is wiped out, then it's game over.

Batman and Robin, on the other hand, must adminster justice fairly between both teams and intimidate gang members until Joker or Bane decides to pull the plug from the operation altogether. The duo can use any number of takedowns, from grates, ledge-hanging, or gargoyles, as well as deploy their sophisticated gadgetry from batarangs for stuns, scramblers that deactivate control points, and explosive gel nefariously placed around corners. As long as they can balance their efforts between both gangs so that neither of them run out of reinforcements too quickly, any veteran Batman or Robin player will no trouble being the predator and filling the intimidation meter before either team knows what hit them.

That said, the gang members have multiple opportunities to make a comeback and counter the two heroes. Turning on enhanced vision, with a limited but rechargable battery, will scan the surrounding area for life signs. If a team's reinforcements are at zero, then killing any hero will bring back any dead team members, just like catching the special ball in dodgeball (for my ground rules at least). Worse comes to shove, Joker and Bane themselves will bang on a designated door in the map as a last-ditch effort and the team member who reaches the door first can swap places with their gang's bonafide leader, destroying all that come in his path.


Details on other multiplayer modes, if they exist, were not given. However, as players rank up, they'll earn more gear and equipment to fashion their avatars how they see fit. The metagame seems deep, with plenty of unlockable costumes that any Batman and Robin fan will admire, especially the nostalgic animated Batman and Robin looks. My eyes are dead set on Red Robin.

Batman: Arkham Origins will release for Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, Wii U, and PC worldwide on October 25, 2013. A separate spin-off version called Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate will release for 3DS and Vita on the same date.
More GR previews for this game:
Batman: Arkham Origins preview posted on 06/17/13.
Batman: Arkham Origins preview posted on 09/05/13.
Batman: Arkham Origins preview posted on 10/01/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Batman: Arkham Origins


More On GameRevolution