More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14


LATEST FEATURES Interview: Forging the Rings of Power in Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor
Tolkien fans may now either squeal with glee at getting to play interactive fanfiction... or condemn it to the watery grave of Numenor.

How Bioware Creates Romances
Bioware's games have romances where you might save the world, on the side of course.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

Batman: Arkham Origins Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
10/01/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Warner Bros. Interactive 
DEVELOPER WB Games Montreal 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Drug Reference, Language, Mild Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

A younger, angrier digital Batman to distract people from Ben Affleck.

Batman: Arkham Origins follows one of the current trends of games being developed when an IP has been taken to its natural conclusion in terms of its story and the owners don't know where to take it in the future: prequel, prequel, prequel. We've seen God of War: Ascension, Gears of War: Judgment, Halo: Reach, Metal Gear Solid 3, Metroid: The Other M, and DmC, so at this rate I wouldn't be surprised if before long we saw Uncharted: Things Drake and Sully Did that One Time and Super Mario Bros Alpha: Overalls.

Not that Arkham Origins developer Warner Bros. Games Montréal, responsible for the fantastic Wii U port of Arkham City, is resting on the-house-that-Rocksteady-built on this one. It's the tiny things that surprised me at first, like how Batman's grappling hook can catapult him beyond the target destination and the sheer expansion of the concrete jungle of what the game's creative director, Eric Holmes, points out as the more Detroit-like Gotham City.



After running me through an accelerated version of the demo from PAX and E3, he showed me two sections, the Batcave and the Gotham City Police Department. Arkham Origins exists in the Batman's second year, allowing WB Montréal to pick and choose the lore they want in building up to the full-fledged Batman of Arkham Asylum and Arkham City. For fans of different iterations of the series, they may notice visual similarities to Batman Begins and story elements from the famous Batman: Year One comic.

In the Batcave, this manifested as Batman's supercomputer appearing as a cobbled-together collection of different components. Near a training area (where you can master advanced combat combo techniques), you can see the fender of a Michael Keaton-movie Batmobile and other unfinished parts. Visually, it's got a stripped-down look that's similar to Batman Begins, with everything feeling high-tech and modern, but with that look of being constructed from available personal body armor.  

The connections to Batman: Year One are clearer once Holmes showed me the inside of the GCPD. A stalwart Jim Gordon, not yet Gotham's Police Commissioner, is the one honest cop in Gotham, while the rest, especially the vicious SWAT team, plans on killing Batman and collecting the reward offered by the game's antagonist, criminal organization leader The Black Mask. While the police are corrupt, it serves Batman better not to take them down (and in their house, there are often too many of them gathered together at once for him to do so) so stealth was key in this section, as the goal was connecting the bat computer to the police database.



When I heard that Rocksteady wouldn't be continuing with the next game, and that it was a prequel, I thought the worst. Instead I'm deeply impressed and convinced that WB Montréal is delivering marked improvements on an already amazing game series. The combat is the same countering and combo-driven encounters, but with new enemies Holmes tells me they've tried to sneak in so that they feel like they've always been there in prior games. Not that it's come without some trials.

It's easy to understand the initial Batman fan backlash against the voice choices for Arkham Origins. For so long, the animated series' Kevin Conroy has been the official voice of Batman that it's hard to hear anyone else in the role and take them seriously. But Roger Craig Smith (Resident Evil's Chris Redfield, Assassin Creed's Ezio, and Sonic the Hedgehog) does a fantastic job at sounding like a younger, angrier, and rawer version of the same Batman. Perhaps more shocking is Troy Baker's (Joel, The Last of Us; Booker DeWitt, Bioshock Infinite) turn as an absolutely dead-on impersonation of Mark Hamill's iconic vocal performance of The Joker. 



If there's one problem Arkham Origins might face that I can see from this viewing, it's that continuity-wise, Batman may be a little too good, with better tools, in this earlier adventure. Fans wanting to play through chronologically may find themselves wondering where "those wonderful toys" he had earlier in his career went, if they go back and play the other games after.

Batman: Arkham Origins releases worldwide on PS3, Xbox 360, PC, and Wii U on October 25, 2013. Having been such a fan of Batman Arkham City: Armored Edition for Wii U, I know what platform I most excited to play it on. 
More GR previews for this game:
Batman: Arkham Origins preview posted on 09/05/13.
Batman: Arkham Origins preview posted on 08/01/13.
Batman: Arkham Origins preview posted on 06/17/13.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Batman: Arkham Origins


More On GameRevolution