More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Battlefield 3: Close Quarters Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
03/14/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER EA 
RELEASE DATE  

Frenetic firefights in tight spaces.


At an after-hours GDC event promoting Battlefield 3’s three new expansion packs, DICE’s General Manager Carl Magnus Troedsson and Executive Producer Patrick Bach spoke enthusiastically about Battlefield 3: Close Quarters, their infantry-only expansion. They mentioned that players had already had a taste of the kinds of maps it offered with Operation Metro, and talked about its new weapons and vertical gameplay. Then they let us play it.

We got to play a PC build of Deathmatch on the Ziba Tower map, comprised of the top three floors of a high-rise building, with a restaurant, wading pool, and other very posh-looking amenities that were soon laid to waste by bullets, shotgun blasts, and grenades. Short-range weapons ruled in the tight quarters and heavily cornered spaces with knife kills and shotguns seeming to be the weapons of choice.



Troedsson and Bach weren’t kidding about the vertical gameplay, either. From a walkway above the open air restaurant covered by tarps, a player could shoot two stories down at anyone attempting to cross between one side of the map to the other (at least until someone seanks up behind them and stabs them in the chest). Going up or down, there are advantages to both.

At one point a group of team members were caught at a choke point on a walkway on the second level. On the other side of the walkway, the enemy would take turns moving in and out through a door to fire on my exposed teammates. Jumping the rail, I ran below, out of the range of fire and lobbed a grenade up into the doorway above, smoking out the enemy and forcing them to expose themselves to the my comrades’ fire.



Gameplay was fast and furious, and it seemed like the map was designed to keep everyone moving constantly to avoid the surprise of leaden death. Out of curiosity, I jumped over the outside rail to see if I would die from impact with the ground, but found that I was respawned for being out of the map area before I hit; that’s one tall tower. I also shot everything I could to see how satisfyingly it would break. The giant hanging bulb lights get a 10/10, exploding in a flash of sparks with a crash. I’d say I got as much satisfaction from shooting them as I did from shooting an enemy in the face.

If Ziba Tower is an indication of the whole Battlefield 3: Close Quarters expansion, then it will have frenetic action in tight spaces and vertical play opportunities. Close Quarters is set to release in June, and one week earlier for PS3.
More GR previews for this game:
Battlefield 3: Close Quarters preview posted on 03/14/12.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Battlefield 3: Close Quarters


More On GameRevolution