More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Battlefield 3: Close Quarters Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
03/14/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER EA DICE 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M What do these ratings mean?

Frenetic firefights in tight spaces.


At an after-hours GDC event promoting Battlefield 3’s three new expansion packs, DICE’s General Manager Carl Magnus Troedsson and Executive Producer Patrick Bach spoke enthusiastically about Battlefield 3: Close Quarters, their infantry-only expansion. They mentioned that players had already had a taste of the kinds of maps it offered with Operation Metro, and talked about its new weapons and vertical gameplay. Then they let us play it.

We got to play a PC build of Deathmatch on the Ziba Tower map, comprised of the top three floors of a high-rise building, with a restaurant, wading pool, and other very posh-looking amenities that were soon laid to waste by bullets, shotgun blasts, and grenades. Short-range weapons ruled in the tight quarters and heavily cornered spaces with knife kills and shotguns seeming to be the weapons of choice.



Troedsson and Bach weren’t kidding about the vertical gameplay, either. From a walkway above the open air restaurant covered by tarps, a player could shoot two stories down at anyone attempting to cross between one side of the map to the other (at least until someone seanks up behind them and stabs them in the chest). Going up or down, there are advantages to both.

At one point a group of team members were caught at a choke point on a walkway on the second level. On the other side of the walkway, the enemy would take turns moving in and out through a door to fire on my exposed teammates. Jumping the rail, I ran below, out of the range of fire and lobbed a grenade up into the doorway above, smoking out the enemy and forcing them to expose themselves to the my comrades’ fire.



Gameplay was fast and furious, and it seemed like the map was designed to keep everyone moving constantly to avoid the surprise of leaden death. Out of curiosity, I jumped over the outside rail to see if I would die from impact with the ground, but found that I was respawned for being out of the map area before I hit; that’s one tall tower. I also shot everything I could to see how satisfyingly it would break. The giant hanging bulb lights get a 10/10, exploding in a flash of sparks with a crash. I’d say I got as much satisfaction from shooting them as I did from shooting an enemy in the face.

If Ziba Tower is an indication of the whole Battlefield 3: Close Quarters expansion, then it will have frenetic action in tight spaces and vertical play opportunities. Close Quarters is set to release in June, and one week earlier for PS3.
More GR previews for this game:
Battlefield 3: Close Quarters preview posted on 03/14/12.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Battlefield 3: Close Quarters