More Reviews
REVIEWS LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.

This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Battlefield 4 Preview

Alex_Osborn By:
Alex_Osborn
03/26/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 64 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER DICE 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Welcome to the next generation.

Those familiar with DICE's work have come to expect a visually impressive experience with each subsequent iteration of the Battlefield franchise, and I'm delighted to report that the fourth proper installment likely won't let fans down. Battlefield 4 blows its predecessors out of the water technically, thanks to a new-and-improved graphics engine that is downright jaw-dropping.

Before firing up the demo, the guys over at Electronic Arts made it perfectly clear that what we were about to see was in-engine footage. Naturally, my expectations (and likely everyone else's in the audience) were incredibly high, and yet I was still wowed when I saw how lifelike each of the characters looked thanks to some superb animation.



The demonstration kicked off with a group of soldiers in a sinking car, submerged deep below the watery depths. The squad's leader is trapped, and there is no chance of saving him. He orders the player as Recker to shoot out the window, freeing himself and the rest of his squadmates, leaving his commander doomed to face an unpleasant fate. As the player turns to the window and fires his gun, the screen goes black, rewinding time to the events that lead to this catastrophe.

The game then opens up in an urban setting with the team on a mission to safely extract a piece of intel. Things go sour rather quickly, and they are forced to fight their way to safety. In typical Battlefield fashion, firefrights are massive and open, truly showing off the large scale of the world. With advances in technology and the power of Frostbite 3, DICE has been able to create an experience that is so detailed, it tiptoes along the line of disturbing. 

Light shines and scatters through the windows, illuminating the various dust particles floating in the air around you. Paint-chipped doors and walls covered in graffiti looks incredibly lifelike, with a level of detail I have never seen in a game before. At one point, the player opens one of these doors only to find a slew of unsuspecting birds that scatter in a frenzya technical marvel. The sheer number of things happening on the screen at any given time is astounding. Massive vehicles rolling the the background, sparks flying on the left, smoke billowing on the right, all while choppers circle overhead. The draw distance is stunning and adds to the level of detail and realism one would expect from a next-gen-developed DICE game.



As Recker and his squad attempt to make their escape, the thunder of bullets and explosions fill the air. Gunplay appears to be incredibly similar to prior entries in the series, so fans will undoubtedly feel right at home. The sound design (to no one's surprise) is incredible, with thunderous booms and eardrum-shattering blasts. Destructible environments have always been a big part of the series, and they're back and more impressive than ever. Not only is blowing a hole in a building disturbingly lifelike, but it yields a gaping hole that looks wholly authentic. After spraying bullets into a slew of enemies, racing through buildings, and dodging helicopter fire, the squad hops in a vehicle, as the player grabs the wheel.

Because the first section of the demo already made it clear how this mission would end, it was almost difficult to bear watching the player race away from enemy pursuit, blowing a pursing chopper into a state of disrepair, sending it plummeting to the earth below. Unfortunately, the destruction sends the car careening off the road and into the water, bringing the story full circle.

There aren't many who'd argue against the fact that Battlefield 3's single-player campaign was rather underwhelming, and based on what we've seen of Battlefield 4, I'm happy to say that it appears DICE is very much on the right track this time around. With characters that the player will actually care about and missions that put the player in difficult situations, there's a lot of potential here. Oh, and it's really pretty, too.

See the full 17-minute demo below.

More GR previews for this game:
Battlefield 4 preview posted on 06/17/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Battlefield 4