More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Bayonetta Preview

Blake_Morse By:
Blake_Morse
09/01/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Platinum Games 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Payback’s a bitch.


Do you know what the major problem with the Devil May Cry series is? Outside of the slowly declining quality of the sequels, Dante’s not really the kind of eye candy I’m looking for. Sorry, but albino dudes in oh-so-fabulous red trench coats just don’t get my motor going. That’s the first issue addressed in SEGA’s upcoming fast-paced hack-and-slasher, Bayonetta. The lead eponymous character is like a super hot Tina Fey (not that she isn’t hot to begin with) or Sarah Palin; she’s so hot, she’s making me sexist. And she does nude scenes too.

click to enlargeYou’ll play as the titular character herself. She’s a member of a witch coven, but unlike the covens that all the Goths chicks at my high school belonged to, she actually has all sorts of crazy magical powers at her disposal. But she has no idea how she got them or why she has to kill angels every day to avoid being sucked into hell... because she has a classic case of soap-opera-standard amnesia. Of course, this will play an important role in the overall plot, providing a slew of questions that will hopefully be answered as you progress.

In this very Mature title, you can expect to see Bayonetta buck ass nekkid quite a bit. Her clothing is made out of her hair, which she also uses to kill angels by transforming it into giant beasts and various torture devices, which are called Climax kills in the game. It works kind of like how Venom’s symbiote suit can change into whatever he can think of, only you end up with a hot naked chick in front of you while it’s going on. And that’s just the beginning of the craziness.

'Over-the-top' barely begins to describe the combat. Along with the standard punch, kick, flip (and repeat) combos, visual augmentations have been added for shock appeal, such as shoving a boot with a gun heel up an angel’s rectum and then cutting off his head with a magic guillotine made out of your hair. Street Fighter-like d-pad commands have been added to flesh out the move roster even more than your standard beat-'em-up as well, such as the quarter-circle and kick (QP+K) which makes you do a handstand and shoot at enemies with your gun stilettos.

click to enlargeCombat looks to be graciously accented with feats of dexterity. If you can time your dodges just right, you’ll enter witch time and get the opportunity to pull off one of the dozens of crazy combos. In the demo we played, there was also a level where you take on another witch in full-on 360 combat, running and leaping from wall to wall and ceiling to floor in hot girl-on-girl combat.

More skills and abilities will be unlocked as you progress, and you’ll be able to upgrade weapons and moves with a system very similar to the soul gems from DMC: kill things, break stuff, receive halos. Certain enemies will also drop weapons with limited uses, such as the angelic trumpet that makes heads explode.

Bayonetta is looking to redefine the hack-’n’-slash genre by moving away from the all too common roided-out badass with a troubled past, and emo-bikers with a mysterious origin towards a more, shall we say, lighthearted or at least less serious tone. All the action and gameplay you would expect from this type of game are there, but come on, a lipstick kiss for a lock-on target and little butterflies that appear when you jump? Not to mention the S&M overtones and quirky fast-paced action.

If staring at a Spartan over-flexed muscle man in a loincloth is making you start to question your lifestyle preferences, Bayonetta may be what you’re looking for. But like any good dominatrix, she’s going to make you wait for it, as the title has been pushed to 2010. Or I could always set you up on a date with Nick and a copy of God of War. [Sorry, I don't like QTEs in bed. ~Ed. Nick] Otherwise, be on a lookout for Bayonetta on the PS3 and 360 early next year.

More GR previews for this game:
Bayonetta preview posted on 09/01/09.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Bayonetta


More On GameRevolution