More Reviews
REVIEWS The Evil Within Review
Developer Shinji Mikami wishes for the survival-horror genre. Does The Evil Within make a case?

Defense Grid 2 Review
Hidden Path Entertainment offer up this sequel to one of the originators of tower defense gaming, with tons of modes for alien-blasting aficionados.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: 10/21/14

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Bras
On small farewells
By Bras
Posted on 10/14/14
Hello people I know and people I do not know, people with whom I have interacted at some point and people who happen to be here for a random reason involving boredom.  I have gathered you here so I can say one thing to your face before (some of…? Anyone hopefully?) you figure it...

Bayonetta 2 Preview

ryanbates By:
ryanbates
06/23/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER PlatinumGames 
RELEASE DATE 10/24/2014
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Got a black magic woman...

When we last left Cereza, now known to everyone as Bayonetta, she was busy outwitting, outlasting, and generally kicking angelic ass. It should come, then, as no surprise that Bayonetta, along with her rival-turned-partner Jeanne, continues to kick angel ass in Bayonetta 2, the sequel to 2009's Bayonetta. But this time, there could be hell to pay as the Umbran Witch faces off against the forces of Heaven and Hell to recover Jeanne's soul.

Bayonetta 2 was one of the show's repeat offenders—games that were shown on the E3 2013 floor that resurfaced again this year—but what a difference a year makes. I played the hands-on demo both years and this year noticed an improved crispness and fluidity in combat, feeling almost like a graceful Batman: Arkham Asylum system. In no time, I was activating Witch Time with elegant evasive maneuvers, shoving enemies into Torture Devices, and letting the blood splatter down like it was a Quentin Tarantino film.

Platinum Games reported that Nintendo oversaw everything, but remained primarily hands-off during development, which is just how the studio liked it. This means Bayonetta's more outrageous elements will resurface in Bayonetta 2, so prepare for lots of blood, painful deaths, and nudity galore. The pacing felt like that of a well-put-together action flick; crazy and wild during combat without rushing through dialogue and exposition for the uninitiated. Fortunately for those who are unfamiliar with the witch's story, Bayonetta 2 will include a Wii U port of the original Bayonetta.

Throughout the console's launch, Nintendo has promised Wii U will cater to gamers looking for a more serious, mature experiences, and Bayonetta 2 was touted as the poster child to this campaign. From what we've seen on the E3 floor, Bayonetta 2 might actually demonstrate that the Mario Machine can offer more than just Mario.

More GR previews for this game:
Bayonetta 2 preview posted on 06/15/13.
Tags:   Wii U, Nintendo, E3, Bayonetta

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Bayonetta 2


More On GameRevolution