More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14


LATEST FEATURES Interview: Forging the Rings of Power in Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor
Tolkien fans may now either squeal with glee at getting to play interactive fanfiction... or condemn it to the watery grave of Numenor.

How Bioware Creates Romances
Bioware's games have romances where you might save the world, on the side of course.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oneshotstop
Call of Duty will never be the same
By oneshotstop
Posted on 07/28/14
       We've all been there. Everyone remembers that mission. You and your partner are climbing up the mountains in the snow, striving to pull some slick clandestine operation about getting some intel on a bad guy, or something similar (because let's face...

Bayonetta 2 Preview

ryanbates By:
ryanbates
06/23/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER PlatinumGames 
RELEASE DATE 10/01/2014
RP What do these ratings mean?

Got a black magic woman...

When we last left Cereza, now known to everyone as Bayonetta, she was busy outwitting, outlasting, and generally kicking angelic ass. It should come, then, as no surprise that Bayonetta, along with her rival-turned-partner Jeanne, continues to kick angel ass in Bayonetta 2, the sequel to 2009's Bayonetta. But this time, there could be hell to pay as the Umbran Witch faces off against the forces of Heaven and Hell to recover Jeanne's soul.

Bayonetta 2 was one of the show's repeat offenders—games that were shown on the E3 2013 floor that resurfaced again this year—but what a difference a year makes. I played the hands-on demo both years and this year noticed an improved crispness and fluidity in combat, feeling almost like a graceful Batman: Arkham Asylum system. In no time, I was activating Witch Time with elegant evasive maneuvers, shoving enemies into Torture Devices, and letting the blood splatter down like it was a Quentin Tarantino film.

Platinum Games reported that Nintendo oversaw everything, but remained primarily hands-off during development, which is just how the studio liked it. This means Bayonetta's more outrageous elements will resurface in Bayonetta 2, so prepare for lots of blood, painful deaths, and nudity galore. The pacing felt like that of a well-put-together action flick; crazy and wild during combat without rushing through dialogue and exposition for the uninitiated. Fortunately for those who are unfamiliar with the witch's story, Bayonetta 2 will include a Wii U port of the original Bayonetta.

Throughout the console's launch, Nintendo has promised Wii U will cater to gamers looking for a more serious, mature experiences, and Bayonetta 2 was touted as the poster child to this campaign. From what we've seen on the E3 floor, Bayonetta 2 might actually demonstrate that the Mario Machine can offer more than just Mario.

More GR previews for this game:
Bayonetta 2 preview posted on 06/15/13.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Bayonetta 2


More On GameRevolution