More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Bayonetta 2 Preview

ryanbates By:
ryanbates
06/23/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER PlatinumGames 
RELEASE DATE 10/24/2014
RP What do these ratings mean?

Got a black magic woman...

When we last left Cereza, now known to everyone as Bayonetta, she was busy outwitting, outlasting, and generally kicking angelic ass. It should come, then, as no surprise that Bayonetta, along with her rival-turned-partner Jeanne, continues to kick angel ass in Bayonetta 2, the sequel to 2009's Bayonetta. But this time, there could be hell to pay as the Umbran Witch faces off against the forces of Heaven and Hell to recover Jeanne's soul.

Bayonetta 2 was one of the show's repeat offenders—games that were shown on the E3 2013 floor that resurfaced again this year—but what a difference a year makes. I played the hands-on demo both years and this year noticed an improved crispness and fluidity in combat, feeling almost like a graceful Batman: Arkham Asylum system. In no time, I was activating Witch Time with elegant evasive maneuvers, shoving enemies into Torture Devices, and letting the blood splatter down like it was a Quentin Tarantino film.

Platinum Games reported that Nintendo oversaw everything, but remained primarily hands-off during development, which is just how the studio liked it. This means Bayonetta's more outrageous elements will resurface in Bayonetta 2, so prepare for lots of blood, painful deaths, and nudity galore. The pacing felt like that of a well-put-together action flick; crazy and wild during combat without rushing through dialogue and exposition for the uninitiated. Fortunately for those who are unfamiliar with the witch's story, Bayonetta 2 will include a Wii U port of the original Bayonetta.

Throughout the console's launch, Nintendo has promised Wii U will cater to gamers looking for a more serious, mature experiences, and Bayonetta 2 was touted as the poster child to this campaign. From what we've seen on the E3 floor, Bayonetta 2 might actually demonstrate that the Mario Machine can offer more than just Mario.

More GR previews for this game:
Bayonetta 2 preview posted on 06/15/13.
Tags:   Wii U, Nintendo, E3, Bayonetta

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Bayonetta 2


More On GameRevolution