More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Beatbuddy Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
07/12/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Reverb Games 
DEVELOPER THREAKS 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Listen!

Austin Wintory, the composer for the exquisite soundtrack for Journey. Rhianna Pratchett, the writer for the critically claimed reboot of Tomb Raider. Parov Stelar and Sabrepulse, two powerhouse musicians, the former for his electroswing and downtempo mixes and the latter for his remixed chiptunes. These are just a handful of the contributors to Beatbuddy, the first indie title created by THREAKS and one that blew everyone away at PAX East this year.



I must admit that writing about Beatbuddy might actually be doing it a disservice. Too many words can get in the way of what makes it so special. It's like talking far too much about any game where music is such an embedded, indelible part of the core design that writing paragraphs upon paragraphs might as well be Not Getting The Freakin' Point.

That said, Beatbuddy is the best reason to purchase a set of headphones for a video game if you haven't already (I recommend some Astro headphones). Every gorgeously hand-painted element in this aquatic 2D platformer moves to the beat—the pulse of the bass drum flowers, the kick of the hi-hat crabs, the stream of bubbles, the rotation of a spinning obstacle, the squid-like movement of Beatbuddy's vehicle humorously called the BubbleBuggy.



Imagine if you will, a lava lamp where every globlet pushes at the drumbeat of your favorite song. Who wouldn't want that lava lamp and show it off to all his friends? There's a purpose to the aquatic environments, that fluidity and envelopment of water, to be thoroughly submerged in blissful sound. it's not so much that the music is created for a level, as it is the other way around.

Now, I could write in length about the newly revamped storyline, the placement of puzzle obstacles throughout each level, and the jeweled collectibles strewn through every level, but I would rather let Beatbuddy speak for itself. Don't let this go on the list of "Top 10 Awesome Games You've Never Played This Year."

Beatbuddy arrives on Steam on August 6 for only $14.99.
More GR previews for this game:
Beatbuddy preview posted on 04/19/13.
Tags:   PC, Steam, Indie
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Beatbuddy


More On GameRevolution