More Reviews
REVIEWS The Evil Within Review
Developer Shinji Mikami wishes for the survival-horror genre. Does The Evil Within make a case?

Defense Grid 2 Review
Hidden Path Entertainment offer up this sequel to one of the originators of tower defense gaming, with tons of modes for alien-blasting aficionados.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: 10/21/14

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Bras
On small farewells
By Bras
Posted on 10/14/14
Hello people I know and people I do not know, people with whom I have interacted at some point and people who happen to be here for a random reason involving boredom.  I have gathered you here so I can say one thing to your face before (some of…? Anyone hopefully?) you figure it...

Beatbuddy Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
07/12/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Reverb Games 
DEVELOPER THREAKS 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Listen!

Austin Wintory, the composer for the exquisite soundtrack for Journey. Rhianna Pratchett, the writer for the critically claimed reboot of Tomb Raider. Parov Stelar and Sabrepulse, two powerhouse musicians, the former for his electroswing and downtempo mixes and the latter for his remixed chiptunes. These are just a handful of the contributors to Beatbuddy, the first indie title created by THREAKS and one that blew everyone away at PAX East this year.



I must admit that writing about Beatbuddy might actually be doing it a disservice. Too many words can get in the way of what makes it so special. It's like talking far too much about any game where music is such an embedded, indelible part of the core design that writing paragraphs upon paragraphs might as well be Not Getting The Freakin' Point.

That said, Beatbuddy is the best reason to purchase a set of headphones for a video game if you haven't already (I recommend some Astro headphones). Every gorgeously hand-painted element in this aquatic 2D platformer moves to the beat—the pulse of the bass drum flowers, the kick of the hi-hat crabs, the stream of bubbles, the rotation of a spinning obstacle, the squid-like movement of Beatbuddy's vehicle humorously called the BubbleBuggy.



Imagine if you will, a lava lamp where every globlet pushes at the drumbeat of your favorite song. Who wouldn't want that lava lamp and show it off to all his friends? There's a purpose to the aquatic environments, that fluidity and envelopment of water, to be thoroughly submerged in blissful sound. it's not so much that the music is created for a level, as it is the other way around.

Now, I could write in length about the newly revamped storyline, the placement of puzzle obstacles throughout each level, and the jeweled collectibles strewn through every level, but I would rather let Beatbuddy speak for itself. Don't let this go on the list of "Top 10 Awesome Games You've Never Played This Year."

Beatbuddy arrives on Steam on August 6 for only $14.99.
More GR previews for this game:
Beatbuddy preview posted on 04/19/13.
Tags:   PC, Steam, Indie
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Beatbuddy


More On GameRevolution