More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Beyblade: Evolution Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
10/11/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Rising Star Games 
DEVELOPER Rising Star Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Mild Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The best multi-part-spinning-top battle simulator that money can buy.

Okay, so I should start this with the caveat that I know nothing about Beyblade. I remember years back when I first saw that the animé series was getting an American release, and I watched a trailer and decided that spinning-top battles were the limit of was willing to go with children's animé.

Cute monster cock-fighting? Sure, let the little suckers battle to the (not-)death. Card games with holographic projections of the card monsters that can somehow actually send people to hell dimensions? Sure, whatever, go nuts. A guy with the power to turn garbage into trees? Awesome! Keep it up. But spinning tops? No. Who knew that would be my limit?


But the fellas from Rising Star are excited about the game, and why shouldn't they be? Beyblade is a franchise tied to a novel toy concept, spinning top battles (the beyblades) made up of interchangeable pieces. The Rising Star producers told me that they were startled by YouTube videos of kids with toolboxes full of parts. It helps that the collector's edition of the game comes with a prebuilt Wing Pegasus 90WF top, never before available in America, with several metal parts, that will help give an edge to real-world top battlers. Prior to the game's release, this model was being imported from Japan at a higher cost than the price of the collector's edition itself.

How does the game fit into this? Beyblade: Evolution has a JRPG story and setting, but at its core, seeing the way the battles play out isn't like Pokémon or other handheld JRPG entries. It's more like a perfect Beyblade real-world battle simulator. Sure, you have the option of buffing your top with spirit the longer it's in battle, and the game makes use of AR cards for arena placement, but at the end of the day, you're launching spinning tops at other spinning tops with the same specs as the real ones.

Beyblade: Evolution is a spinning top battle simulator. It allows you to access the 500+ parts from the real toys and mix and match to find the best combinations and strategies. Rising Star execs pointed out that this was a hell of a lot more fun than watching YouTube videos that did the same, but didn't let you play the game itself. In this sense, Evolution gives the player a chance to try out the parts without having to commit to buying them.


Not that the game itself is unwelcome to Beyblade fandom. It bridges the gap between the last animé series, Metal Saga, wrapping up loose ends, and the upcoming series, Shogun Steel, including a sneak preview of the series as well. So storywise, it serves as a bridge from the old to the new.

Beyblade: Evolution is, on the one hand, a JRPG with a fairly traditional look attached to a mainstream animé series. On the other hand, for fans of the toys, it acts as a simulator that cuts out the middleman in finding out which parts they need or want for their real-world gaming. It's an interesting combination. It's also a 3DS exclusive that uses oft forgotten features for the platform, like AR cards and the gyroscope, to further immerse the player in the game.

Beyblade: Evolution releases for the 3DS on October 22nd.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Beyblade: Evolution


More On GameRevolution