More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity 3.0 Review
Disney Infinity 3.0 offers the first real taste of new Star Wars gaming content since the franchise was purchased by the Disney Corporation. This begs the question: Is it Han Sololicious? Or Jar Jar Bombad?

Lara Croft GO Review
Everyone’s favorite spunky spelunker goes retro for her new adventure on mobile devices. Does this blast from the past offer enough variety to stand on its own?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pollen Preview
EXCLUSIVE: I had the chance to see the "real" demo for Pollen on Oculus Rift that at most only two people saw.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Release date: 09/01/15

Destiny: The Taken King
Release date: 09/15/15

Skylanders SuperChargers
Release date: 09/20/15

LEGO Dimensions
Release date: 09/27/15


LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Ivory_Soul
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...

Blacklight Retribution Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
09/16/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Perfect World 
DEVELOPER Zombie Studios 
RELEASE DATE Out Now

Burn him, steal his mech, and then stomp on his teammates.


That was the advice I got from a Blacklight: Retribution developer while I was playing their upcoming free-to-play, first-person shooter. I quickly equipped a flamethrower, burned the pilot of a nearby mech suit alive while he was still in it, and stole it with his teammates watching. The mech's gatling guns could not have perforated my enemies faster.

While I didn't repeat that magical play in my second game of Blacklight: Retribution, it stuck with me throughout the rest of PAX Prime. The thought that a free-to-play shooter could be so fast, strategic, and memorable never occurred to me. Still, here was Perfect World and Zombie Studios inviting gamers to showdown in teams of three.

Cameron Teague of PlayStation Lifestyle, again, manned the machine next to me while another journalist stood with us against the convention goers. At first, Blacklight: Retribution plays like any other shooter. You've got an assault rifle, some grenades, and a pistol to lay waste to your opposition, but as you kill and complete team actions, you gain credits that can be spent at terminals for powered-up weapons or the aforementioned mech-suit.

These powerful tools aren't instantaneous. While you're at a terminal, you're vulnerable to enemy fire. Luckily, you can see through walls, at the expense of your weapon use, to scan your surroundings. Calling down the mech suit in an open area takes a considerably long time, so it's best to communicate with teammates lest you be killed and your suit stolen.

The game has a definitive rock-paper-scisors style dominance to it. The mech suit isn't invulnerable. It turns slowly and specific weapons can penetrate its armor. It has a large amount of health, but a coordinated team can distract it, set it on fire, and steal it for its side. That's how I accomplished the miraculous feat I described in the first paragraph. In fact, I found more success stealing suits than I did calling in my own, but that's just my playstyle.

Blacklight: Retribution is the follow-up to Blacklight: Tango Down, and it shows. The futuristic look and proven combat spell experience, and players can rest assured that newbies and old-hands can enjoy matches together. Gunplay is fast and furious and team coordination is key. Environments are beautifully detailed, but as a free-to-play title, we were assured that Retribution would work on most modern machines.

Perfect World, as is their usual, will be offering a beta before the game is launched, and even after that, this modern shooter will be free-to-play, with micro-transactions paying the bills. Retribution was impressive, inventive, and balanced, all of which the first-person shooter market is prone to miss. Keep an eye out for it in the coming months.
More GR previews for this game:
NetWar and Siege Preview posted on 03/29/12.
Tags:   PAX, PC
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Blacklight Retribution


More On GameRevolution