More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Bleach: Soul Resurreccií³n Preview

Jessica_Vazquez By:
Jessica_Vazquez
07/18/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action/Adventure 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER NIS America 
DEVELOPER Sony 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

It's one in the afternoon... do you know where your Quincy is?


I have to admit that when asked if I wanted to play a game called Bleach, my mind immediately went to something I believe adult film stars do quite often in their spare time. I soon learned this was not the case. Bleach: Soul Resurrección isn’t just something people have done in the back room of a nail salon in the middle of the day. It’s one of the most highly anticipated animé-based hack-'n'-slash games of the summer and it is set to be released on the PS3 in August.



For those of you unfamiliar with the franchise, Bleach: Soul Resurrección is based on a popular animé series in which a young man, Ichigo Kurosaki, is bestowed with the ability not only to see spirits transcend into the spirit realm, but also fight demons who pose a threat to humanity and fellow “soul reavers” like himself. No, Haley Joel Osment does not make a cameo in the game. But a Bruce Willis-esque bi-curious samurai? Yes.

The combat styles of each character are similar in the fact that everyone is equipped with one ranged attack and two primary melee attacks. However, we are saved from redundancy with the opportunity to play as different characters with varied ranged/melee attack types. So if you play as a larger character, your basic attacks are more brutish than those of a smaller more petite character. Another combat variation between characters are their “soul pressure” attacks, ranging from energy blasts to ridiculous flourishes comparable to the X-ray moves in the latest Mortal Kombat. Fully-charged spirit pressure attacks are unique to each character and can be executed multiple times.


One feature of the game I particularly enjoyed was the Dragon Ball-esque flying you can do. I spent a good five minutes gliding across the manga-style landscapes of each level, circling my opponents and occasionally pinballing into them while I laughed hysterically. It turned out to be one of my better combat tactics.

Bleach: Soul Resurrección for PS3 slashes into stores August 2, 2011.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Bleach: Soul Resurreccií³n


More On GameRevolution