More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Bleach: Soul Resurreccií³n Preview

Jessica_Vazquez By:
Jessica_Vazquez
07/18/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action/Adventure 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER NIS America 
DEVELOPER Sony 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

It's one in the afternoon... do you know where your Quincy is?


I have to admit that when asked if I wanted to play a game called Bleach, my mind immediately went to something I believe adult film stars do quite often in their spare time. I soon learned this was not the case. Bleach: Soul Resurrección isn’t just something people have done in the back room of a nail salon in the middle of the day. It’s one of the most highly anticipated animé-based hack-'n'-slash games of the summer and it is set to be released on the PS3 in August.



For those of you unfamiliar with the franchise, Bleach: Soul Resurrección is based on a popular animé series in which a young man, Ichigo Kurosaki, is bestowed with the ability not only to see spirits transcend into the spirit realm, but also fight demons who pose a threat to humanity and fellow “soul reavers” like himself. No, Haley Joel Osment does not make a cameo in the game. But a Bruce Willis-esque bi-curious samurai? Yes.

The combat styles of each character are similar in the fact that everyone is equipped with one ranged attack and two primary melee attacks. However, we are saved from redundancy with the opportunity to play as different characters with varied ranged/melee attack types. So if you play as a larger character, your basic attacks are more brutish than those of a smaller more petite character. Another combat variation between characters are their “soul pressure” attacks, ranging from energy blasts to ridiculous flourishes comparable to the X-ray moves in the latest Mortal Kombat. Fully-charged spirit pressure attacks are unique to each character and can be executed multiple times.


One feature of the game I particularly enjoyed was the Dragon Ball-esque flying you can do. I spent a good five minutes gliding across the manga-style landscapes of each level, circling my opponents and occasionally pinballing into them while I laughed hysterically. It turned out to be one of my better combat tactics.

Bleach: Soul Resurrección for PS3 slashes into stores August 2, 2011.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Bleach: Soul Resurreccií³n