More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Borderlands 2 Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
06/11/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER 2K Games 
DEVELOPER Gearbox Software 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

Two guns are better than one.


Out of all the games at E3 2012, Borderlands 2 was the first to blow my mind, starting an incredible streak of third-party hits that soared in an event when the first-party press conferences were generally underwhelming. Gearbox Software's Borderlands, despite the occasional glitch and irritating "corrupt DLC" notifications, was a incredible top-seller as a four-player cooperative first-person shooter gunfest. Borderlands 2 takes that tried-and-true formula and multiplies it by two bazookas... literally.

All it took was thirty seconds of trying out the new Gunzerker class, a behemoth badass who can wield two rocket launchers (or two of anything) at once, to remind me of how awesome this series really is. Beyond that, the increase in speed is extremely noticeable. Borderlands 2 is about 30% faster than its predecessor, with quicker movements, reloads, and weapon switches.



As you would expect, though, Borderlands 2 is more of a "new and improved" model of Borderlands than a complete redo. You will still accept bounty board quests, choose from four classes based on the original four, earn experience, gain skill points for various trees, open familiar red treasure chests, and cheer when you find an 4x-incendiary sniper rifle. (I will at least.) You'll also notice that money is automatically pulled toward your character like a magnet, making looting that much easier and the pace much swifter than before. If you find a crappy gun, you don't have to skip it this time around, either; you can throw it enemies for a blast explosion. I guess that's the Borderlands version of going green.

The four new characters are tweaked and upgraded versions of the original four; Salvador replaces Brick as the previously mentioned Gunzerker, Maya keeps in line with Lilith's Siren abilities, the commando Axton is just as turret-happy as Roland, and Zer0 is a stealthy masked Assassin with skills markedly close to the Hunter. This doesn't include the recently revealed Mechromancer class, featuring a cyborg woman with robotic support drones, which will be available as post-launch DLC before Christmas.



The mission for this heroic quartet, five years after the events in the first Borderlands, is actually to rescue the original cast of heroes after they've been thrown into prison by a power-hungry character named Handsome Jack. Apparently, he's stolen the credit for opening the Eridian Vault from the first game and is convinced that he can "cleanse" the world by exterminating colonists and industrialization. You happen to win a gladiator battle sponsored by Handsome Jack, but he becomes jealous of your praise and has you thrown in the desert and left for dead. Luckily, Guardian Angel returns from the first game to rescue you just in the nick of time. Fan favorite Scooter will also make a comeback. Hey, can't catch a ride without him.

Get your revenge, find your favorite gun, grab three friends, and rescue Pandora once more when Borderlands 2 arrives September 18, 2012.


FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Borderlands 2


More On GameRevolution