More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Brink Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
04/18/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 16 
PUBLISHER Bethesda 
DEVELOPER Splash Damage 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

It's Team Fortress on water.


Brink makes no apologies that it mimics Team Fortress 2. Two virtually identical eight-player teams battle it out on a sprawling map where the goal is efficient teamwork, class changes, and well-placed gunfire. The only major difference between the two games is that the story is based around a sustainable manmade city that floats on water called The Ark and two factions in the city that oppose each other: the security forces who guard the city and the resistance who wish to escape it or die trying. The campaign mode, capable of both single-player and multiplayer, explores this struggle through cut-scenes on each side.

click to enlargeBut really, the main point is getting your fix of team-based first-person shooter multiplayer however you can get it, and Brink has improved tremendously since its showing at E3. Where Team Fortress has a cartoonish exaggeration and playfulness, Brink's flavor is concentrated, rugged, and serious - not too serious, of course, but just enough to make it distinct. Characters have long, thin heads with wrinkled complexions, and objectives are clear, to-the-point, and firmly expressed.

Since every player can flexibly choose a different class every time they respawn, Brink becomes less about mastering one class and more about being a jack of all trades between operative, soldier, engineer, and medic. Analyzing the current situation well means considering the primary objective, your expertise in a particular class, and the class spread of your team and your enemy's team. The distinctions between classes are rather obvious at this point, but for clarity's sake, the soldier has more firepower, the operative hacks enemy computers and safes, the medic heals and revives his teammates on the spot, and the engineer can plant mines, build turrets, and repair objects.

Of course, cross-class warfare occurs frequently and deliberately. Soldiers plant charges that can be removed by engineers. Engineers can plant mines that operatives can detect. Operatives can begin hacks that engineers can disengage. And everyone can kill everyone else. (What, too blunt?) Meanwhile, sticking together as a team accelerates capture speeds and encourages players to buff their team member's health, ammo supply, and abilities.

click to enlargeBrink also separates itself by making movement fluid and swift. Simply shooting enemies doesn't do much good, since it only takes ten seconds to respawn, so getting to an objective and completing it quickly matters that much more. Just by holding down the sprint button, players can deftly climb, leap, and even wall-hop around obstacles if they have a slim body type - sort of like Mirror's Edge, except you never miss. This rewards players who like rushing in and capturing command centers or being a gnat that goes into enemy territory and breaks their stuff. (As a ninja, I approve.)

Beyond that, the meta-game leaves plenty of places for players to earn experience points towards new weapons, weapon parts, perks, and custom appearances. Players can change everything from a character's face and hair, to their tattoos and head-to-toe clothing, for both their outfits for the rebel and security sides. Of course, obtaining your personal favorite loadout with the right perks and weapons will be your primary reason for continuing the game, apart from teaming up with your friends for an overnight fragfest.

Brink goes over the edge May 10, 2011 on Xbox 360, PS3, and PC. Make sure you check your favorite retailer for various pre-order bonuses.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Brink


More On GameRevolution