More Reviews
REVIEWS The Last of Us Remastered Review
Sony and Naughty Dog have revisited the PlayStation 3 opus to bring an enhanced vision of the game to PlayStation 4, but should you return to Joel and Ellie’s story so soon?

God of War Collection (Vita) Review
God of War brings its PS2 heritage to Vita, and the results are more than a bit baffling.
More Previews
PREVIEWS UemeU Preview
Giving the power to the players to build the games they want to play, UemeU opens up the sandbox to a larger degree than previous games, with intuitive tools, cooperative building, and very few restrictions.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

MotoGP 14
Release date: 09/01/14


LATEST FEATURES Buy, Try, or Die: August 2014 Release List
Sacred 3, Disgaea 4, inFamous: First Light, Madden NFL 15—what will you Buy, what will you Try, and what needs to Die?

The Best Cosplay of Comic-Con 2014
Comic-Con is the premier convention for cosplayers, and we've got more than a hundred shots this year. Which are your favorites?
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oneshotstop
Call of Duty will never be the same
By oneshotstop
Posted on 07/28/14
       We've all been there. Everyone remembers that mission. You and your partner are climbing up the mountains in the snow, striving to pull some slick clandestine operation about getting some intel on a bad guy, or something similar (because let's face...

Call of Juarez: Gunslinger Preview

Anthony_Severino By:
Anthony_Severino
03/23/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Techland 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Intense Violence, Blood and Gore, Suggestive Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Call for digital distribution was the right move.


If you wrote off Call of Juarez: Gunslinger by the franchise legacy alone, no one would blame you. After a mildly positive reception for Bound in Blood, the folks at Techland gave a modern day Western a shot with The Cartel. Big mistake. It wasn't enough for Ubisoft to let go of the franchise, but rather than a retail release that could spell major financial risk with low reward, Techland reloaded their six-shooters and took aim at digital distribution.
 
The result is a game that takes itself a lot less seriously and appeals more to the fans of old coin-op Wild West shoot-'em-ups of yesteryear. There's still a story and campaign, loosely based on historic outlaws, such as Jesse James or Billy the Kid. But there's also a strictly arcade mode meant for wracking up high scores and just having a blast. Or both.

 
The tales are told by the gunslingers themselves in their own words—their own take on what really happened. Essentially, since they were the only ones to live to tell their side of the story, it's theirs to mold into a tale of heroism rather than notoriety. The narrative was good for a few laughsit turns out these ruthless killers have a lighter side.
 
Meanwhile, they had no trouble pistol-whipping, gunslinging, and taking a whole lotta lives in the process. In my short playthrough, I had to have killed over 100 enemies. At least. There's little downtime; instead, you push through the action with a swift pace solely to put holes in as many bodies as possible.

 
It's still a first-person shooter with some navigating between areas. But from what I saw, the shooting—what being a gunslinger is all about—is front and center. I went through six-shooters and shotguns quickly as I ran through train cart after train cart filled with shootout after shootout. I constantly ran out of ammo, but it was fine since there are so many dead bodies laying around that I could scoop up their weapons to use on their still-breathing buddies.
 
A couple explosions here, a chaingun massacre there, and then it all ended in a duel at dawn, dramatic Old West-style—which I absolutely loved. I also rather liked the new art direction. Crisp Wild West environments, with a slightly cel-shaded effect. None of it at all resembled the last Call of Juarez, and you won't hear any complaints about it. It appears that taking away the pressure of big-budget retail release has led Gunslinger to some fun and fresh ideas, mixed in with the old Wild West.

Call of Juarez: Gunslinger doesn't have a release date beyond "coming soon," but we do know that it will be for Xbox 360 and PS3.
More GR previews for this game:
Call of Juarez: Gunslinger preview posted on 05/06/13.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Call of Juarez: Gunslinger


More On GameRevolution