More Reviews
REVIEWS NBA LIVE 15 Review
Yes, NBA Live was horrible last year. But this year's entry is a vast improvement. Just give it a try.

Dungeon of the Endless Review
A roguelike that’s equal parts charming and challenging with a turn-based twist.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Vainglory Preview
Multiplayer online battle arenas have grown in popularity, yet Super Evil Megacorp hopes to give the franchise new, vibrant life on tablet. I went hands-on to find out if it can be done.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP LinksOcarina This is another article from Blistered Thumbs I wrote, back from the dead after being buried in the way-back machine. I posted this back in April of 2013, and many of the issues present seem to be prevalent right now in some cases, namely the decrees of sexism and misogony. Considering current...

Call of Juarez: Gunslinger Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
05/06/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Techland 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Intense Violence, Blood and Gore, Suggestive Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Good gosh, howdy, if the old west ain't the place to blast fools and take names! 

Call of Juarez: Gunslinger has a novel approach to its narrative... *puts on cowboy hat*

Yeah, scratch that, it's got a storytellin' approach: literally. While your shucks-howdy former bounty huntin' dog, Silas Greaves, sets a spell and lays out an old yarn for the good ol' boys at the saloon, the environment changes and adapts as he changes the way he's tellin' it. Gol' darn tootin' if it idn't the damndest thing.

You'll be sneakin' up on a gaggle of red-masked banditos, only to have a bunch of Cherokee Braves ambush you, before Silas yanks 'em with a phrase, voice over-like, as they disappear from view as suddenly as they appeared. Ya see, he thew them in to make sure you was payin' attention. And them environments and textures poppin' in and out at will like a Bob Ross video on fast forward. Yeehaw!



Gunslinger's story mode, which ambles through a slaughterhouse of violence, is filled with some famous old-west fellers like Billy the Kid, The Clayton gang, Pat Garret, and them Dalton boys. Now, some of this here may set you up against them as part of Silas' tall tale, but hey, them's what it is. That makes a good story.

Gunslinger's boss fights are a battle of precision and timin', as you hone your accuracy and draw efficiency with timed pulls and focused targets. Dang, it's so futuristic it's practically steampunk—what'cha need to do to whip out your shooting iron and blast them fellers to death!

Greaves, bounty hunter he is, is a might bit customizable, if'n you're of the inclination to customize him along the three paths available. I picked the sharpshooter one, Ranger; as opposed to the two-handed gunfighter, Gunslinger; or the... other one I don't reckon I rightly recall... oh yeah, it was Trapper, on account of how I like to lay low like a dirty snake and pick off my enemies from range.



The preview build was long, with scores of mission content just waitin' to get in front of your gunbarrel. And by "mission content," I do mean lyin', filthy, cheatin' bandits upon whom you invest the fortitude of iron and lead unto their prostrate and lifeless corpses. You kill 'em real good, provided you got 'em dead to rights in your ironsights. Precision is key when your opposition is fixin' to force upon you an eternal dirt-nap.

Call of Juarez: Gunslinger shoves a whole bunch of "mission content" in front of your shootin' hand early this summer. If you're fixin' for just some of that ol'-fashioned carnage without the story, arcade mode'll have you fixed, as you blast fellers to death in combo waves for higher scores.

(BLAM!)

Dang. Nearly blew my own foot off from the excitement and cacophony of it all!
More GR previews for this game:
PAX East 2013 Preview posted on 03/23/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Call of Juarez: Gunslinger


More On GameRevolution