More Reviews
REVIEWS Rise of the Tomb Raider - Baba Y Review
Lara’s first story-driven DLC goes for an altogether spookier tone.

XCOM 2 Review
The aliens made me say it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Arslan: The Warriors of Legend
Release date: 02/09/16

Mighty No. 9
Release date: 02/09/16

Factotum 90
Release date: 02/10/16

Aegis of Earth: Protonovus Assault
Release date: 03/01/16


LATEST FEATURES When Companies Fall In Love, We Get Project X Zone 2
Sure, you can create your own team in other games, but they won't have Chun-Li or Morrigan or Strider, now would they?

5 Ways Bloodborne Has Inspired Dark Souls 3
Bloodborne with shields.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Ivory_Soul
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...

Call of Juarez: Gunslinger Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
05/06/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Techland 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Intense Violence, Blood and Gore, Suggestive Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Good gosh, howdy, if the old west ain't the place to blast fools and take names! 

Call of Juarez: Gunslinger has a novel approach to its narrative... *puts on cowboy hat*

Yeah, scratch that, it's got a storytellin' approach: literally. While your shucks-howdy former bounty huntin' dog, Silas Greaves, sets a spell and lays out an old yarn for the good ol' boys at the saloon, the environment changes and adapts as he changes the way he's tellin' it. Gol' darn tootin' if it idn't the damndest thing.

You'll be sneakin' up on a gaggle of red-masked banditos, only to have a bunch of Cherokee Braves ambush you, before Silas yanks 'em with a phrase, voice over-like, as they disappear from view as suddenly as they appeared. Ya see, he thew them in to make sure you was payin' attention. And them environments and textures poppin' in and out at will like a Bob Ross video on fast forward. Yeehaw!



Gunslinger's story mode, which ambles through a slaughterhouse of violence, is filled with some famous old-west fellers like Billy the Kid, The Clayton gang, Pat Garret, and them Dalton boys. Now, some of this here may set you up against them as part of Silas' tall tale, but hey, them's what it is. That makes a good story.

Gunslinger's boss fights are a battle of precision and timin', as you hone your accuracy and draw efficiency with timed pulls and focused targets. Dang, it's so futuristic it's practically steampunk—what'cha need to do to whip out your shooting iron and blast them fellers to death!

Greaves, bounty hunter he is, is a might bit customizable, if'n you're of the inclination to customize him along the three paths available. I picked the sharpshooter one, Ranger; as opposed to the two-handed gunfighter, Gunslinger; or the... other one I don't reckon I rightly recall... oh yeah, it was Trapper, on account of how I like to lay low like a dirty snake and pick off my enemies from range.



The preview build was long, with scores of mission content just waitin' to get in front of your gunbarrel. And by "mission content," I do mean lyin', filthy, cheatin' bandits upon whom you invest the fortitude of iron and lead unto their prostrate and lifeless corpses. You kill 'em real good, provided you got 'em dead to rights in your ironsights. Precision is key when your opposition is fixin' to force upon you an eternal dirt-nap.

Call of Juarez: Gunslinger shoves a whole bunch of "mission content" in front of your shootin' hand early this summer. If you're fixin' for just some of that ol'-fashioned carnage without the story, arcade mode'll have you fixed, as you blast fellers to death in combo waves for higher scores.

(BLAM!)

Dang. Nearly blew my own foot off from the excitement and cacophony of it all!
More GR previews for this game:
PAX East 2013 Preview posted on 03/23/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.



comments powered by Disqus


More information about Call of Juarez: Gunslinger


More On GameRevolution