More Reviews
REVIEWS The Evil Within Review
Developer Shinji Mikami wishes for the survival-horror genre. Does The Evil Within make a case?

Defense Grid 2 Review
Hidden Path Entertainment offer up this sequel to one of the originators of tower defense gaming, with tons of modes for alien-blasting aficionados.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: 10/21/14

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Bras
On small farewells
By Bras
Posted on 10/14/14
Hello people I know and people I do not know, people with whom I have interacted at some point and people who happen to be here for a random reason involving boredom.  I have gathered you here so I can say one thing to your face before (some of…? Anyone hopefully?) you figure it...

Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker Preview

ryanbates By:
ryanbates
06/14/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Puzzle 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE 12/05/2014
RP What do these ratings mean?

Indiana Toad and the Puzzling Palace.

Anyone who knows me knows I love Super Mario 3D World to no end. I love darn near everything about it. From the level design to the new power-ups to the classic SMB2-esque dynamic of characters, it all registers a big thumbs-up from this guy.

Up near the top of this list were the Captain Toad mini-levels, the spatial puzzle levels which utilized the Wii U Gamepad to rotate the camera in all angles and directions to help the adventurous alter-ego of Toad exhume stars and search for treasure. These mini-levels and the happy-go-lucky Mushroom Retainer take center stage in Nintendo's Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker, revealed at this year's E3.



Captain Toad may now be an intrepid treasure hunter, but that doesn't mean he registers as a tough and powerful dude. In fact, Captain Toad can't jump or fight. But that doesn't bother Captain Toad, for he has a weapon tougher than any raccoon tail, parasol, or Fire Flower: Captain Toad has brains. Hopefully, players have them too, as the puzzles go from pleasant to pandemonium.

Players utilize the Gamepad to rotate the camera left, right, up, and down to see the spatial puzzle from all angles to find the least dangerous route for Toad to traverse, collecting coins and diamonds along the way. Familiar enemies such as Thwomps and Magikoopas as well as major bosses demand all of Toad's power under the mushroom cap and occasionally a bop with a turnip along the way.



One of the most demanding levels I had during my hands-on play involved the lava monster pictured above. Not only did I have to angle my camera to find the right pathways to take Toad down, I had to do it while dodging the fiery breath of the monster by hiding behind metal panels, not all of which were stationary. Adding to the danger was the temptation of three diamonds strewn about the level in precarious positions, similar to the green stars of Super Mario 3D World or the star coins of the New Super Mario Bros. series. As a confessed completionist, I admit I took a bit of damage reaching out for one of shimmering jewels instead of focusing on the pathway.

Not everyone finds entertainment in multiplayer shooters, zombie-slaying, or open-world adventures. These people should flock to Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker and enjoy using every neuron possible. And to those who do like those other type of games, if they enjoy puzzlers as well, they should also take a look at this brave little shroom's tale of tricky treasure hunting.
Tags:   Nintendo, E3, Wii U

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker


More On GameRevolution