More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Castle of Illusion Starring Mickey Mouse Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/13/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platformer 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Sega Studios Australia 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Mild Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Toss back another throwback.

Classic Disney titles are some of the most revered in the minds of players now grown up. The likes of AladdinThe Lion King, and Disney's Adventures in the Magic Kingdom among them (even if maybe Magic Kingdom is just in my head) are adored for their combination of control and beauty… something few companies back in those days had a reputation for doing. Lately the development team over there seems to be finding their way back to its stride and trying to keep it going with a fully reimagined classic.



Castle of Illusion, if you ask Sega, isn't just a remake of an old game but a new take on classic ideas. Mickey is tasked with defeating Mizrabel in her castle, but with Mizrabel's abilities, Mickey can't tell easily what is real and what isn't. So, in order to defeat her, he's got to play her game… namely finding the door that leads to the exit and discovering the demon boss in charge of each floor.

This title is not like other recently re-released classics, or upgraded ports like Ducktales Remastered, but a ground-up revamping of one of the great side-scrolling adventures of the past with some gorgeously drawn backgrounds and animations.



I played the alpha build, so it's still somewhat early on (though I was told it was pretty much finished) but scheduled for a late Summer, early Fall release. I hope what I was playing was still a bit early, because while it looked nice enough, the handling of Mickey was more than acceptably slippery. I've been playing platforming games for most of my life, and I was sliding off platforms like Lindsay Lohan slides in and out of rehab. In short: it could use a tightening up. Taking a half-second or so to completely stop is just unacceptable.

Castle of Illusion is gunning for release this year on PSN, XBLA and PC. Should they tighten the controls well enough, it should be a great throwback for old Genesis fans.
Tags:   E3, Disney, Sega

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Castle of Illusion Starring Mickey Mouse