More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Preview

Chris_Hudak By:
Chris_Hudak
07/07/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Mercurysteam Kojima Productions 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Nudity, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Fear and Loathing on the Widower Circuit.


Originally announced only as 'Lords of Shadow'—no reference to a particular long-standing Konami vampire-whipping franchise at all—this newest entrant to the Castlevania lineup is set in a high-fantasy Middle Ages Europe and is considered to be a reboot of the series. As such, the plot is not connected to the canon of the original series.

click to enlargeThe new setup, then: A dark Force known as the Lords of Shadow is threatening the alliance between the Heavens and the Earth, and a bad-news magical spell prevents the souls of the departed from leaving their terrestrial digs. The result is an ill-fated planet crawling with evil monsters who prey on the living. Players take the role of Gabriel Belmont, an elite member of a group of knights calling themselves the Brotherhood of Light.

The job of the Brotherhood is to protect the innocent and weak against the supernatural monsters that now roam the countryside in bulk. It turns out that one of the humans recently slaughtered by said monsters was none other than Gabriel's wife, now trapped in a shadow existence between life and death (since her soul cannot depart). With nothing else to do, she essentially plays Beatrice to Gabriel's Dante, guiding him on his new, inherited quest to, well, save the world. No pressure.

Centrally important to Gabriel's quest are two legend-shrouded Masks—the God and Devil Masks. One of them purportedly has the power to resurrect the dead—an obvious 'wanna' for our widower-hero. The Devil Mask... well, we're not sure what that one does. Nothing good, would be my guess. As Gabriel roams the supernaturally-wasted land to defeat the factions of the Lords of Shadow, he will meet other major characters such as The Lady of the Forest, The Sword Master, and his own mentor Zobek (voiced by Patrick Stewart).

click to enlargeCastlevania: Lords of Shadow is a third-person action adventure and features over 50 levels filled with platforming, combat, and puzzle-solving gameplay. Gabriel wields a chain-whip dubbed the Combat Cross; this retractable-chain number can be upgraded and is useful for exploratory purposes, such as attaining higher perches, climbing walls, and naturally swinging across chasms. Other usable items include stakes, knives, vials of Holy Water, and other more incidental, environmental weapons.

The idea was to have a 3D-experience worthy of current-gen systems and also to emulate the kinds of frantic, latching-on, whip-swinging action that defined Super Castlevania IV. In Lords of Shadow, there will at times be somewhat linear stages that serve to drive the story, but other game-areas are described as “quite open” and are to be filled with numerous hidden artifacts for players to collect. Really determined, completionist players will be able to revisit any previous stage in order to collect every single item in the game.

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow will offer approximately 15 hours of gameplay throughout the 50+ stages, in a range of setting that will go 'Well beyond the Castle'. While classic, staple enemies like werewolves and vampires abound, the game will include foes such as giant spider, trolls and goblins, as well as much more large-scale bosses such as the massive Ice Titan revealed in the game trailers. Taking one of these hyperthyroidal puppies down will yield valuable Relics critical to later sections of the game.

And yes, yes—the legendary Konami Code will be lurking around in the new game, too (for all you Symphony of the Night fanboys out there). Castlevania: Lords of Shadow is destined to rise from the gloom later this year, and we'll be ready to whip our full review on you when it does.

More GR previews for this game:
Castlevania: Lords of Shadow preview posted on 07/07/10.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Castlevania: Lords of Shadow


More On GameRevolution