More Reviews
REVIEWS Dead Rising 3 PC Review
Hack ‘n’ slash if you want.

THEATRHYTHM FINAL FANTASY CURTAI Review
Take some of the greatest tunes Square Enix has ever produced, weave them through an interesting rhythm system with a couple famous, friendly faces, then make it portable. What could possibly go wrong?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Invisible, Inc. Preview
The makers of Don’t Starve and Mark of the Ninja head into uncharted territory (again).
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 Preview

Alex_Osborn By:
Alex_Osborn
06/12/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER MercurySteam 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Nudity

What do these ratings mean?

A bloody good time.

We've seen countless God of War clones ever since Sony debuted its overly graphic franchise on the PS2, but none have come quite as close to capturing that same intense, violent feel as MercurySteam's Castlevania: Lords of Shadow. The development team is back with a direct sequel, and I'm happy to report that those who loved the 2010 release will have a whole lot of fun with this new installment.



I got some hands-on time with Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 at Konami's E3 booth, and after watching an incredibly dramatic opening cutscene, I was plunged right into the action. As Gabriel Belmont, I was equipped with a fiery whip that I used to cut down my oncoming foes. Combat felt immediately intuitive and instantly gratifying. From standard basic moves to more far reaching area-of-attack techniques, I was able to dispose of my enemies with relative ease.

Then things got a bit more complex.

In the midst of combat I had noticed that some of my health had depleted, so I switched to the Void Sword, a large blue blade that replenished my HP with each strike against an enemy. Tapping the left bumper on the Xbox 360 controller made switching between the two weapons incredibly easy, and it didn't take long before I was naturally switching between the two without even thinking about it.



Then came a batch of armored foes with large shields. It was at this moment I realized I needed to equip a third weapon, the Chaos Claws, to pummel my attackers and break down their defenses. This new ability was mapped to the right bumper, so it goes without saying that cycling between this newfound power and my other two methods of attack quickly became second nature as well.

After laying waste to several dozen enemies, it came time for a bit of platforming. Much like UnchartedLords of Shadow 2 had me scaling walls and leaping between large gaps in stylish fashion. Holding down the left trigger illuminated the way, making it easy for an unskilled gamer like myself to figure out the most ideal path with little frustration. When I finally made my way outside of the gargantuan castle, I was greeted by a massive opponent. I soon found myself in a gameplay scenario that blended action and platforming with satisfying results.  



After hacking into the golden creature, dodging various attacks along the way, I needed to climb aboard a moving mechanism, avoiding the deadly blasts that followed my every move. Carefully timed button presses kept me from falling to my death. These quick-time events came in the form of a shrinking circle that once lined up with a smaller circle, required my immediate input. [Much like the rings in Lost Odyssey.] It's nothing revolutionary, but it's a nice addition that adds to the overall tension. All the while, I continued to move about the level, dealing damage where I could.

I've never been a huge fan of any of the Castlevania games, but the slick combat that improves upon the original Lords of Shadow in just about every way left me thirsty for more of the game's gripping combat. This is one current-gen game you'll want to check out before the new upcoming hardware inevitably steals your heart.
More GR previews for this game:
Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 preview posted on 01/09/14.
Tags:   E3, Castlevania, Xbox 360, PS3
IF YOU WANT TO CHAT, HIT ME UP

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2


More On GameRevolution