More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Mirror of Fate Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
06/12/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Konami 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Partial Nudity, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The long wait is finally coming to a close.


There’s been a void in my life lately. I could once happily plow through some of the most compelling platforming gameplay ever conceived on a number of handhelds with the plentiful smattering of Metroid-vania titles that Konami kept churning out, each managing to stay fun despite doing little to change the formula—because the formula was that good.


And then the well dried up. I don’t know why or who’s to blame, but I haven’t gotten a Metroid-vania fix since Order of Ecclesia, and that was nigh-on four years ago. Why Konami would choose to leave their beloved line of handheld titles dormant for so long is beyond me, but I’m not about to question them now that they’ve come to their senses and finally begun developing the next 2D Castlevania installment.

But then again, is that really what it is? Or is it more in keeping with its namesake, the 3D Lords of Shadow? The truth is that Mirror of Fate manages to land smack-dab in the middle of those two Castlevania sub-genres. On one hand, there’s the familiar map, the exploration and search for health and power upgrades common to Metroid-vanias. On the other, you have the impressive 3D models and fast-paced action combat of Lords of Shadow. Oh, and the fact that the story and characters are a prequel to the upcoming LoS2.


The most jarring thing to get used to is the new combat system on a 2D plane. Like many console action games (and unlike previous handheld Castlevanias), there are two attack buttons for the whip: a weaker, faster attack and a slower, stronger attack with a wide area of effect. Using these different attacks in conjunction with each other is the way to create good combos to tear through enemies.

It’s a very promising start to somewhat of an experiment in the storied franchise. I did think that enemies in the demo had too much health—such that the combat slowed down and became more of a chore as you just chipped away at them—but hopefully that will be tweaked further into the development cycle to keep the game going at a good pace. There’s still a lot of time for Konami to perfect the game before it launches later this year ahead of its big brother, LoS2.
Tags:   E3, Konami, 3DS, Castlevania

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Mirror of Fate