More Reviews
REVIEWS LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.

This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Catherine Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/08/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Atlus 
DEVELOPER Atlus 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Partial Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Every guy's awesome worst nightmare?


I'm always on the lookout for some interesting new IPs, and E3 is the one place to sit down and find a flood of them. There aren't as many lately, it seems, since CoD and Gears try to hog all of the camera time and media attention. One company that always seems to put out interesting new IPs is Atlus, and in their tucked-away corner of the convention center, they're trying to start up a new relationship with gamers… with their lady-friend, Catherine.

click to enlargeDon't cheat on your girl, eh? You play as a fella who's conflicted with taking his current relationship (with a girl named Katherine) to the next level. But while he debates, he comes across another woman… a young, flirtatious blond named Catherine. Confused? Try explaining without the spelling difference. While he starts to see this new woman, his dreams start to haunt him and he finds himself with a decision to make out of a scripting workshop from "How I Met Your Mother".

Catherine's primary play is done throughout dreams that the main character (name here) has. In them you have a pair of horns because, like everyone else in the dream world, you're… a sheep. Yup, everybody else in that world is a sheep, and you've got the horns to match up. And as a sheep (well, nearly-naked dude with horns, kinda like a satyr), you have to hurry through environmental puzzles before you screw yourself over.

click to enlargeAlong those puzzles, the human-ish sheep will be around blocking your path every chance that you get. Throughout the stage I was able to play - a giant tower of blocks that seems to match Persona's art with Q*Bert's play - the sheep will block your direct path and even move your blocks around to screw you up. Thankfully you do have an attack: smack 'em with the pillow you're carrying under your arm. It's a dream, so why not?

The play was pretty fun, but the puzzles (if the first is any indication) are deadly serious. There is some difficulty to be had and in the US, we're getting the nerf-ed version! Coupling some intense difficulty with some beautiful cut-scenes and animé sequences, the package should be an interesting ride when it comes out on July 26th. Just don't tell Katherine… erm, Catherine. Wait, Katherine? I'm gonna get slapped tonight...
More GR previews for this game:
Catherine preview posted on 06/08/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Catherine