More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Conkers Preview

Johnny_Liu By:
Johnny_Liu
01/07/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platform/Adventure 
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE Out Now

One disturbed squirrel.

Perhaps you've heard of Conker. Maybe even gazed at a screenshot or two. There he was - an unassuming, Disney-esque, little orange squirrel with a wide grin across his face. But somewhere along the line, at some terrifying moment in this game's development, everything changed.

When I saw the original Conker, I thought it just looked like another cutesy-poo 3D exploring game. Alas, times have changed. Conker's Bad Fur Day has evolved into a game with a well-deserved M rating. Blood, guts, language, and 'scandalicious' innuendo. Sound tasty?

Conker has had a crazy night of drinking and partying. Tequila ... women of questionable virtue... the whole shebang, I'm sure. So he wakes up with a killer hangover, and finds himself in a strange, different world where everyone and everything is trying to kill him. Heeey... sounds like my life... sort of.

BFD is an action game in the tradition of Donkey Kong 64 and Banjo Kazooie. Different maneuvers and skills allow you to re-explore and discover new areas and secrets. Expect mini-games mixed in and different objectives to complete.

Despite the familiar gameplay, everything has been given an adult twist. Two flaming baddies walk up with plans to destroy you. What do you do? Piss all over them. That's right. Piss all over them. If the piss button is labeled number 1, then I wonder what button number 2 does? (I didn't just read that. - Ed.)

Speaking of the number two, there really are only two ways Conker's BFD can turn out. The unfortunate road would be a journey through ho-hum gameplay and forced comedy routines. But from what I've seen, expect the path of proven Rare gameplay blended with genuine humor and fun.

Maybe this will even be the first of many worthwhile mature Nintendo games. How about Mario Bachelor Party?

Sickos rejoice! Conker's Bad Fur Day is coming out December 4 for the N64.



More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Conkers


More On GameRevolution