More Reviews
REVIEWS Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.

Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
09/01/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Valve 
DEVELOPER Valve 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

If the shoe fits...


I'll tell you right now that playing Counter-Strike: Global Offensive felt like visiting an old friend, a college roommate I'd lost contact with, but whose friendship miraculously picked right back up thanks to some key inside jokes. I played Counter-Strike 1.6 and Counter-Strike: Source heavily in college.

It was a night class, a student union, and a brotherhood all in one. Bob's Pit, the server I dedicated myself to, started to feel full of close friends, despite all the loathsome, drunken idiots I actually lived with. It was the dorm room I never had, but wanted desperately. Global Offensive teleported me back to those times faster than any Delorean, but also managed to show off a few new tricks.

There's a lot to worry about when it comes to Global Offensive's inclusion of Xbox 360 and PS3 gamers, those teeming masses relegated to twin analog sticks. At PAX Prime this year, we were given the 360 build of the game and free reign over the redesigned Dust map. All of the classic choke-points were present, despite some new tweaking to allow for more balanced play.

Having flanked the enemy in choke-points that I'd normally die in, I'll say with trepidation that these changes were all made with new players in mind. There's a certain finesse to cornering hallways that you could never get as a new player. Veteran players will have to watch their backs as nothing more than a little exploration can net newcomers some quick kills.

The build at PAX mapped crouching to the left trigger and firing to the right. As strange as that may sound, it made sense in console-gamer terms. With no comfortable iron-sights available to 360 and PS3 players, players will need a "natural" solution to their desire for more accurate shooting. Buying weapons at the start of the round involved the Y button and a selection wheel overlay.

The Dust map we played centered around planting the bomb or defusing the bomb. While I had wracked up a fine kill count in the preceding four rounds, the final face-off between CTs and Ts was a defining moment. Having flanked the enemy team, I stood alone as the last CT alive.

Hearing the bomb tick down signaled trouble, but I had equipped a reliable shotgun and started my entry into the new bombsite, moved from its old B site in Dust and Dust 2. I scanned my surroundings as I made my way through courtyard doors and around corners. Not knowing how to check the score off-hand, I couldn't check how many enemies were left, but that wouldn't matter if I didn't defuse the bomb in time. After spotting the device, I took a second to blast a Terrorist hiding behind a crate, camping the site. I immediately moved to defuse. As the bar slowly started to fill, I heard shots from behind me. The terrorist was firing wide and as soon as I felt a bullet grace me, I held the left trigger to crouch down and finished my defusal, winning the round.

With the long line of PAX-goers oohing and awing behind me, I took a moment to wave to the defeated Terrorist squad on the other side. Gloating about a spectacular one-man win felt so natural after all this time, so long-time fans shouldn't worry. Counter-Strike: Global Offensive will enter beta this October.
More GR previews for this game:
Counter-Strike: Global Offensive preview posted on 09/01/11.
Counter-Strike: Global Offensive preview posted on 06/08/12.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Counter-Strike: Global Offensive