More Reviews
REVIEWS The Evil Within Review
Developer Shinji Mikami wishes for the survival-horror genre. Does The Evil Within make a case?

Defense Grid 2 Review
Hidden Path Entertainment offer up this sequel to one of the originators of tower defense gaming, with tons of modes for alien-blasting aficionados.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: 10/21/14

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Bras
On small farewells
By Bras
Posted on 10/14/14
Hello people I know and people I do not know, people with whom I have interacted at some point and people who happen to be here for a random reason involving boredom.  I have gathered you here so I can say one thing to your face before (some of…? Anyone hopefully?) you figure it...

Cut The Rope 2 Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
12/06/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Puzzle 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER ZeptoLabs 
DEVELOPER ZeptoLabs 
RELEASE DATE  

Like taking candy from an Om Nom.

Chances are that if you have iOS device of some sort, you've heard of ZeptoLab's Cut The Rope, the cheeky, physics-based puzzler where you must guide peppermint candies into the mouth of the adorable Om Nom. It's one of most successful mobile titles to date, luring people to download the original game and its other spin-offs over 300 million times. Cut the Rope 2 aims to continue this delectable journey of candy-hording with new characters and a wealth of content for an equally delicious price.

Much like Donkey Kong in his Country adventures, Om Nom has lost his vast collection of candies and he must gather them all from the culprit: spiders. Not sure what a bunch of anthropods want with minty freshness, but whatever the case, it's a crime against all that is good about Halloween, in a story told animated cutscenes. So you must reclaim his stolen cache by completing real-time puzzles with candies attached to ropes and balloons, and guide Om Nom to the candy or the candy to Om Nom.



That might seem easy, and it is for majority of the game. The trick is whether you can capture the three stars on the board as well, with a few of them seemingly far out of the way. Sometimes you'll need to attach a balloon to Om Nom or, if you're completely stuck, use a sparkly fairy to help you collect all of the stars. We had access to an infinite number of them in the brief demo we were shown, but be assured that it will hardly be that simple for the real thing. But with enough trial and error, you'll figure out every puzzle eventually.

Cut the Rope 2 ups the ante by sending Om Nom on a journey through five thematic worlds, each with a different character that will either help or hinder him. The forest levels that we had access to featured Roto, an orange flying insect that can carry candy or Om Nom around the board on a directed path. Blue, who can copy himself multiple times, is a resident of the scrapyard levels, while Lick, who can use his tongue to form bridges, is a part of the Sandy Dam. The last two areas, the Underground and the City Park, respectively feature the purple Boo who can knock back Om Nom on contact and Toss, who has a spring on its head.


Altogether, Cut The Rope 2 will have plenty of levels, and it has been revealed at a recent event in San Francisco that the game will release in under two weeks on December 19, 2013 at the limited-time price of 99 cents for iOS devices. That's an incredible value that even I can't deny.
Tags:   ioS, Android
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Cut The Rope 2


More On GameRevolution