More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Cut The Rope 2 Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
12/06/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Puzzle 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER ZeptoLabs 
DEVELOPER ZeptoLabs 
RELEASE DATE  

Like taking candy from an Om Nom.

Chances are that if you have iOS device of some sort, you've heard of ZeptoLab's Cut The Rope, the cheeky, physics-based puzzler where you must guide peppermint candies into the mouth of the adorable Om Nom. It's one of most successful mobile titles to date, luring people to download the original game and its other spin-offs over 300 million times. Cut the Rope 2 aims to continue this delectable journey of candy-hording with new characters and a wealth of content for an equally delicious price.

Much like Donkey Kong in his Country adventures, Om Nom has lost his vast collection of candies and he must gather them all from the culprit: spiders. Not sure what a bunch of anthropods want with minty freshness, but whatever the case, it's a crime against all that is good about Halloween, in a story told animated cutscenes. So you must reclaim his stolen cache by completing real-time puzzles with candies attached to ropes and balloons, and guide Om Nom to the candy or the candy to Om Nom.



That might seem easy, and it is for majority of the game. The trick is whether you can capture the three stars on the board as well, with a few of them seemingly far out of the way. Sometimes you'll need to attach a balloon to Om Nom or, if you're completely stuck, use a sparkly fairy to help you collect all of the stars. We had access to an infinite number of them in the brief demo we were shown, but be assured that it will hardly be that simple for the real thing. But with enough trial and error, you'll figure out every puzzle eventually.

Cut the Rope 2 ups the ante by sending Om Nom on a journey through five thematic worlds, each with a different character that will either help or hinder him. The forest levels that we had access to featured Roto, an orange flying insect that can carry candy or Om Nom around the board on a directed path. Blue, who can copy himself multiple times, is a resident of the scrapyard levels, while Lick, who can use his tongue to form bridges, is a part of the Sandy Dam. The last two areas, the Underground and the City Park, respectively feature the purple Boo who can knock back Om Nom on contact and Toss, who has a spring on its head.


Altogether, Cut The Rope 2 will have plenty of levels, and it has been revealed at a recent event in San Francisco that the game will release in under two weeks on December 19, 2013 at the limited-time price of 99 cents for iOS devices. That's an incredible value that even I can't deny.
Tags:   ioS, Android
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Cut The Rope 2


More On GameRevolution