More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox One Exclusive D4 TGS Hands-On - I Can't Put My Arms Down!
But unlike Randy, we don't have layers of coats to hold them up for us.

Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Dark Souls Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
09/06/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 3 
PUBLISHER Namco-Bandai 
DEVELOPER From Software 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Partial Nudity, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Hard? You don't know hard.


Dark Souls is the epitome of the relevant throwback. Its predecessor, Demon's Souls, published by Atlus, was a sleeper hit to even From Software, who was surprised at just how many people desired an eerie, deliberate, excruciatingly difficult fantasy RPG. Oh, did I write "excruciatingly" difficult? I meant "throw your controller, cry yourself to sleep, keep dying until you remember how it was on the NES" difficult. And that's the point. It's supposed to be that way.



As a modern reinterpretation of classic gaming, Dark Souls is a response not only to the feeling that games have become too easy and forgiving, but that they've also become too reliant on formulaic gameplay and instant gratification. At the same time, it embraces more than several contemporary design concepts, notably an open-world environment elevated from the streamlined level-based hub world of Demon's Souls. Now, if you can see a forboding tower on a hill in the distance, you can go there; that is, if you have the desire, the mettle, and the luck.

Where Demon's Souls was the test run for From Software's ideas, Dark Souls is the full throttlethe same idea but fully realized. Sure, it's got almost an identical setup: Your character has been cursed by a ring and must reclaim his (or her) soul by battling through the unforgiving towers and hallways ridden with monsters, traps, and a general spirit of unfairness. Or as they put it: "surprise". But that's what its fans crave. Of course, it's more than that, since any game can be made unremorsefully difficult; Dark Souls is, in a word, challenging, but most importantly, with the right game plan and technique, beatable.



In becomes clear from the first level, as veterans will know, that running away is a legitimate strategy. Practice that. It may be cowardly and unhelpful to collecting souls for new equipment and character upgrades, but only fools charge into a gated dungeon thinking that their giant greatsword will save them from a horde of undead legionnaires twice their size. Sorry, this isn't Dynasty Warriors or some Diablo clone. Survival depends on attentive striking, blocking, riposting, and retreating, all while using choke points and spacing to your advantage. It doesn't matter how many healing herbs you have if you get flanked up the proverbial rear.

Luckily this time around, bonfires are littered about the battlefield and offer a quick rest and save point, not far beyond the familiar "tent" item in JRPGs. Though enemies respawn every time a bonfire is lit, it provides a great focal area to grind for souls and place to burn away your humanitynot literally (well, maybe) but statistically. Every player has a humanity attribute (not sure what happens when it's at zero) that can be burned to provide passive bonuses to everyone who's playing the game, particularly anyone who is near the bonfire of choice.



We're not sure on the extent of the bonuses at all, but one thing seem clear: the more people who play, the easier it will become. Consequently, the game will be the most difficult near the very beginning and at the very end of its life, though that ignores all the player-written messages that can be written on the walls of the world to alert you and your online brethren of any oncoming doom.

Prepare to die when Dark Souls arrives October 4, 2011. I should also remind you first adopters that the limited Collector's Edition is the same price as the standard edition, so pre-order it now before your soul is sucked.
More GR previews for this game:
Dark Souls preview posted on 09/06/11.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dark Souls


More On GameRevolution