More Reviews
REVIEWS Freedom Wars Review
Questions of robot rights and dystopian ethics don’t often hit as hard as they do in Freedom Wars, though once they do core combat gameplay loops should have you enslaved.

PAC-MAN and the Ghostly Adventur Review
Is the entire Ghostly Adventures series, including the TV show, a prequel to the rest of Pac-Man’s life? Because in my childhood I seem to remember Pac having a girlfriend and a kid, not worrying about Pac-puberty.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Resident Evil Revelations 2 Preview
Capcom returns to the episodic format that entertained us in the first game of the sub series published on Nintendo 3DS and followed with a console release. What will Claire and company uncover this time?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 6 Greatest Horror Games of All Time
Happy Halloween, GameRevolutionaries! Let's get festive and look back at some of the best games the horror genre has to offer.

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP LinksOcarina This is another article from Blistered Thumbs I wrote, back from the dead after being buried in the way-back machine. I posted this back in April of 2013, and many of the issues present seem to be prevalent right now in some cases, namely the decrees of sexism and misogony. Considering current...

Dark Souls II Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
01/30/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Namco Bandai 
DEVELOPER FromSoftware 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood and Gore, Mild Language, Partial Nudity, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Soon, we shall praise the sun!

Much as its past brethren, Dark Souls II can been described as an archaelogical dig. It's about chipping away at the secrets of a desolated world, in this case the ruins of an old kingdom named Drangleic, and at the twisted journey of the main character who is merely known as The Cursed. It's all meant to be vague, suitably matching the thematic tone of the series, so that players are rewarded with bits of lore and slits of truth as they triumph over all manner of gargantuan bosses and sinister creatures.

As far as can be told, Dark Souls II occurs somewhere after the original title, likely still in the now extended Age of Fire following the "good" ending of Dark Souls. Actually, the entire plot reminds me of the popular manga and anime Berserk, due to the main character Guts being branded with a dark curse and having to slaughter his way through legions of undead. All we know about The Cursed is that he is fated to lose his soul many, many times (literally) and that he symbolizes the idea that humanity is full of suffering.



In a recent event, the developers allowed the press to experience the game straight from the start screen for thirty minutes. Within that time, it become clear what Dark Souls II co-director Yui Tanimura meant when he said that it would be more "accessible". Once your character emerges from the character creation screen, a series of tunnels (blocked by mist, of course) with stone pillars that relay tutorial messages explain how the game works. And the opening levels aren't terribly difficult, with the town of Majula right beyond the tutorial level, several bonfires within reach, and slow-moving undead that are easily interrupted with a dagger swipe.

Better yet, I started off as a sorcerer so I had access to thirty rounds of Soul Arrow that regenerated every time I visited a bonfire. The Soul Arrow spell takes a bit of time to cast, but given enough careful distance, it can fell even the hardiest knight... which I did and looted a strong sword from its corpse. (I couldn't use it without the required strength, but it's better than nothing.) As you must suspect, keeping out of range from attacks is key, whether that means dodging away or circle strafing close to get around to the exposed back of your opponent.



It's also important not to get greedy, like I did when I thought I could collect an item in a well and fell to my doom, or when I tried reaching a platform near water and fell to my doom yet again, or rolling straight into a room without noticing the two skeleton soldiers waiting around the corner. As usual, dying forces you to recover your corpse and, like the original Demon's Souls, your HP will drop every time you die without doing so. Using a Human Effigy will undo the penalty and reverse hollowing.

This opening, though, is meant to lower the hurdle for newcomers and will be rather breezy for veterans, but that won't be a concern later on once the likes of the Mirror Knight become commonplace. If anything, From Software understands the challenge that its audience wants and will harden the experience as the game goes along. If you're particularly sinister, you can join the Brotherhood of Blood to make it easier to invade other people's games and make my life more miserable than it needs to be. They also won't be adding any DLC to the game so that it can be a full experience right out of the gate.

Dark Souls II releases on March 11, 2014 for Xbox 360, PS3, and PC.
More GR previews for this game:
Dark Souls II preview posted on 06/20/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dark Souls II


More On GameRevolution