More Reviews
REVIEWS Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Review
The final chapter of Metal Gear is here, and it's everything you hoped it would be and more.

Tearaway Unfolded Review
Does the PS4 version offer worthwhile new features or are they paper thin?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Supernova Preview
Primal Game Studios has tuned Supernova since last I saw it, with more commanders, special abilities, and a faster pace.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Release date: Out Now

Destiny: The Taken King
Release date: 09/15/15

Skylanders SuperChargers
Release date: 09/20/15

LEGO Dimensions
Release date: 09/27/15


LATEST FEATURES MGSV: The Phantom Pain De-Emphasizes Story and It Works
Actually playing Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain is the best part of the game, which may be a first for the series.

Kojima Responds To Konami By Placing More Than 60 Credit Screens In MGSV: The Phantom Pain
Made by Hideo Kojima. Written by Hideo Kojima. Produced by Hideo Kojima. Created by Hideo Kojima. Directed by Hideo Kojima...

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Ivory_Soul
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...

Dark Souls II Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
06/20/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Namco Bandai 
DEVELOPER FromSoftware 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood and Gore, Mild Language, Partial Nudity, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

"If only I could be so grossly incandescent!"

Whenever a person tells me that Dark Souls is easy, I have the sudden urge to give that person a calculus test. Because all I hear is the ravings of a crazy, albeit godlike, person whose thoughts I shall never understand. Woe is me, one who hath not the reflexes of ye most hardcore of the hardcore. Slugging through a level dying more than that horse that gets beaten is not my first choice what it comes to an enjoyable experience, but that doesn't mean I don't respect it.
 
In fact, I don't even need to give out a calculus test; all I need to do is hand over a copy of Dark Souls II. If you thought Dark Souls or its predecessor Demon's Souls was already a blistering, controller-smashing experience, then you know where the devious minds of From Software are going with this. Sure, a part of this sequel's design is to make the game more accessible and more easily digestible, but that only means they feel justified balancing all that with levels and bosses that make light of the word "challenging."


 
For instance, you may now warp between bonfires at any time, effectively lowering the amount of backtracking and padded-out traversal throughout the world. Several healing items have been added, like the Aromatic Ooze which increases attack and Life Gems which heal a solid amount of health over time. Dual-wielding weapons is much easier this time around, and you can now hold three weapons/shields instead of the normal two.
 
On the other hand, the artificial intelligence is far more reactive to your actions and the development team has made a fervent overhaul to the enemies so as to rid them of any AI loopholes that may have existed before. So if you think you can simply hang back and munch on a Twilight Herb, you'll probably have your face full of sword by the time you swallow. And just to twist the knife a little more, you can't chain parries or backstabs anymore.


 
Then there are the bosses, and chiefly one in particular called the Mirror Knight, a towering silvery figure who can dish out a lightning strike, a mirror than can create clones, and a overhead strike that almost comes out of nowhere. Now, I'm sure within the week of the game's launch, there will be a thread in some forum entitled "The Mirror Knight isn't that hard, guys!", but the Namco Bandai rep playing the hands-off demo mentioned that he had a success rate of about 1 in 13 tries. Sorry, I mean 0 in 13 tries. I just wanted to give you false hope. (I was told Dark Souls fans will laugh at that.)
 
Dark Souls II will run us through the gauntlet on March 2014 for Xbox 360, PS3, and PC.
More GR previews for this game:
Dark Souls II preview posted on 01/30/14.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dark Souls II


More On GameRevolution