More Reviews
REVIEWS Firefall Review
Repetitive gameplay makes this fall a little boring.

The Walking Dead: Season Two Review
At this point, you’re not coming back for the zombies. Let’s get down to business.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Nosgoth Preview
What do you get when you mix vampires and vampire hunters? Three-on-three class-based combat in the Legacy of Kain universe.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Destiny
Release date: 09/09/14

FIFA 15
Release date: 09/23/14

Ar Nosurge: Ode to an Unborn Star
Release date: 09/23/14

Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14


LATEST FEATURES And I Was All "Hell Yeah I'll Play a New Dreamcast Game"
I just played a Dreamcast game that was released in... wait, 2014?

A Comprehensive Guide to Dealing with Controversy in the Video Game Industry
Need help wading through the latest misogyny/homophobia/racism/corruption debate in the gaming industry? Paul Tamburro’s here to help!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP samsmith614 Since game design is a business, I decided to see what's really selling well for the PS4. I did this search a week ago, and at the time, out of the top 20 bestsellers on Amazon 10 had not even been released yet. By now some have been released. But others still have not. And yet others...

Dark Souls II Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
01/30/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Namco Bandai 
DEVELOPER FromSoftware 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood and Gore, Mild Language, Partial Nudity, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Soon, we shall praise the sun!

Much as its past brethren, Dark Souls II can been described as an archaelogical dig. It's about chipping away at the secrets of a desolated world, in this case the ruins of an old kingdom named Drangleic, and at the twisted journey of the main character who is merely known as The Cursed. It's all meant to be vague, suitably matching the thematic tone of the series, so that players are rewarded with bits of lore and slits of truth as they triumph over all manner of gargantuan bosses and sinister creatures.

As far as can be told, Dark Souls II occurs somewhere after the original title, likely still in the now extended Age of Fire following the "good" ending of Dark Souls. Actually, the entire plot reminds me of the popular manga and anime Berserk, due to the main character Guts being branded with a dark curse and having to slaughter his way through legions of undead. All we know about The Cursed is that he is fated to lose his soul many, many times (literally) and that he symbolizes the idea that humanity is full of suffering.



In a recent event, the developers allowed the press to experience the game straight from the start screen for thirty minutes. Within that time, it become clear what Dark Souls II co-director Yui Tanimura meant when he said that it would be more "accessible". Once your character emerges from the character creation screen, a series of tunnels (blocked by mist, of course) with stone pillars that relay tutorial messages explain how the game works. And the opening levels aren't terribly difficult, with the town of Majula right beyond the tutorial level, several bonfires within reach, and slow-moving undead that are easily interrupted with a dagger swipe.

Better yet, I started off as a sorcerer so I had access to thirty rounds of Soul Arrow that regenerated every time I visited a bonfire. The Soul Arrow spell takes a bit of time to cast, but given enough careful distance, it can fell even the hardiest knight... which I did and looted a strong sword from its corpse. (I couldn't use it without the required strength, but it's better than nothing.) As you must suspect, keeping out of range from attacks is key, whether that means dodging away or circle strafing close to get around to the exposed back of your opponent.



It's also important not to get greedy, like I did when I thought I could collect an item in a well and fell to my doom, or when I tried reaching a platform near water and fell to my doom yet again, or rolling straight into a room without noticing the two skeleton soldiers waiting around the corner. As usual, dying forces you to recover your corpse and, like the original Demon's Souls, your HP will drop every time you die without doing so. Using a Human Effigy will undo the penalty and reverse hollowing.

This opening, though, is meant to lower the hurdle for newcomers and will be rather breezy for veterans, but that won't be a concern later on once the likes of the Mirror Knight become commonplace. If anything, From Software understands the challenge that its audience wants and will harden the experience as the game goes along. If you're particularly sinister, you can join the Brotherhood of Blood to make it easier to invade other people's games and make my life more miserable than it needs to be. They also won't be adding any DLC to the game so that it can be a full experience right out of the gate.

Dark Souls II releases on March 11, 2014 for Xbox 360, PS3, and PC.
More GR previews for this game:
Dark Souls II preview posted on 06/20/13.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dark Souls II


More On GameRevolution