More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Darkspore Preview

Duke_Ferris By:
Duke_Ferris
08/19/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER EA Redwood Shores, Maxis 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood and Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The Return of the Penis Monster.


I can say with no hesitation that Will Wright is one of the smartest people I've ever met. He is a font of ideas, and more importantly, perspectives. He has a way of looking at the things you take for granted and seeing them in a whole new way. Then, perhaps even more amazing, he can articulate that vision and share it with others.

No wonder then, even after he is no longer at EA, his legacy lives on. The Sims continues its evolution, and Darkspore draws from Will's final game at EA, Spore. And interestingly, it uses the best part of Spore as its own: the creature creator.

Other than that, Darkspore is entirely its own game. Rather than an evolutionary sandbox, it's a full-blown RPG with a sci-fi story. The Crogenetors were an ancient race that traveled the galaxy and manipulated life to suit their needs. However, they accidentally created something more powerful than they were, that they could not control, and thus the Darkspore were born. Darkspore were able to manipulate E-DNA and transform all the creatures on a planet into mutated hordes that they dominate, with the ultimate goal of taking over the entire universe.

The Crogenitors had a secret weapon, however. Hidden for a millennium, you too have the power of E-DNA, and you must form a team of genetic heroes to rescue the galaxy.

DarkSpore is a loot-heavy action-RPG, like Diablo II or the recent Torchlight, except your loot is DNA which you can use to modify your own body. So for example, you get a poisonous spine instead of a sword, or you gain the ability to shoot lightning instead of a magic wand.

And that's where the Spore creature creator comes in. When you get that new +7 chitinous armor, you can modify its location, size, shape, color, and other attributes to customize your genetic warrior to look the way you want it to.

And you don't get just one warrior, you get three. Flesh out (literally) some familiar classes, like tanks, damage dealers, and AOE folks, and you get to play all three simultaneously so they can support each other. Just swap them out on the fly like you're playing Tekken Tag. Plus, different team combinations will grant new powers to the entire team.

Still don't feel you've got enough support? Darkspore is designed primarily as a multiplayer game. With four players, you can really dish out the hurt and collect more of that precious, precious DNA. Save up for those new legs you've always wanted.

Darkspore is all set to cream your genes in spring 2011.
More GR previews for this game:
Darkspore preview posted on 08/19/10.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Darkspore


More On GameRevolution