More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Darkstalkers Resurrection Preview

Vince_Ingenito By:
Vince_Ingenito
02/15/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Iron Galaxy Studios 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Suggestive Themes, Violence, Blood, Partial Nudity

What do these ratings mean?

Things just got weird...ly awesome.

Aside from Capcom's own JoJo's Bizarre Adventure, I can't think of a fighting game series with a more cracked-out cast than Darkstalkers. Sadly, besides having a few characters present in Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3, this funky bunch has been warming the bench for around a decade now. Much to the elation of hardcore fighting fans everywhere, Capcom's decided to put them back into play with Darkstalkers Resurrection, an HD re-release handled by Iron Galaxy Studios, the same folks who did such a fine job with Street Fighter III: Third Strike Online and Marvel vs. Capcom Origins.

Similar to the latter, Darkstalkers Resurrection delivers not one, but two games in one package: Night Warriors: Darkstalkers' Revenge and Darkstalkers 3. Having already done a bang-up job on three other Capcom classics, Iron Galaxy has this down to a science at this point. The menus, options, and presentation are all in line with their past works, which is a very good thing.



In a lot of ways, these remakes are more fully featured and functional than Capcom's current flagship fighters. Sure, the games are old and the visuals are dated, but everything else is aces. GGPO netcode is always a plus, as is the sequential button configuration screen. You get full replay functionality, with the ability to save and watch replays with friends online (including chat support so you can talk it over), and the ability to upload matches directly to your personal Youtube account. Training mode is also completely decked out, with dummy recording and even save states so you can efficiently prepare for any situation you might face. Then there are 8-player lobbies, spectator mode, online tournament support... when's Capcom gonna start incorporating all this into their main games again?

That's a lot of good news for the nuts who live and die by fighting games, but Iron Galaxy wants to teach newbies the ropes while they're at it. I mean real teaching, not just combo trials. Every character gets a five-part detailed tutorial explaining effective move applications, overall strategies, and practical combos. The only other game I've seen do this is Skullgirls, and in my opinion, this needs to become a standard practice if fighting games are going to continue to grow. Mashing buttons and getting crushed only stays fun for so long after all.



As for the games themselves, they're both straight ports of the arcade versions. When Darkstalkers hit the scene, it established many new mechanics that would go onto become mainstays of Capcom's fighters. Zany as it looks, it's still quite tame compared to the non-stop bug-out that is Marvel vs. Capcom, but it's still distinct enough from Street Fighter to stand on its own. With any luck, this package will make a new set of fans fall in love with Demitri, Talbain, Jedah, and company, hopefully paving the way for a true Darkstalkers sequel in the process. Hey, a man can dream, can't he?

Darkstalkers Resurrection will be available March 12th on PSN for $14.99, and the day after on XBLA.
More GR previews for this game:
Darkstalkers Resurrection preview posted on 02/15/13.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Darkstalkers Resurrection


More On GameRevolution