More Reviews
REVIEWS Minimum Review
With so many shooters crowding the marketplace, it’s refreshing to see Minimum take the low-fi route through Steam Early Access.

Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Days of Thunder Preview

Duke_Ferris By:
Duke_Ferris
03/22/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Paramount 
DEVELOPER Paramount 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Rubbing is racing.


One of the great things about my job is the amazing opportunities I get to experience, things that I would never have done in my life otherwise. Even things I'm not particularly interested in. If I had been a lawyer or a car salesman, I would have lived out all my years and would have never gone to Wrestlemania, would have never been to the Disney Family Museum, would have never visited the Russian Consulate, would have never been to a PBR rodeo, would have never met the Prime Minister of Iceland, and I never would have gone to a NASCAR race.

click to enlargeUnlike many millions of Americans, I don't follow what turns out to be the most popular spectator sport in the United States. However, thanks to the upcoming Days of Thunder game for Xbox Live Arcade Playstation Network, PC and Mac, Paramount Digital was nice enough to fly me down to Los Angeles to attend a NASCAR event at the Toyota Motor Speedway. It was loud, it was brash, the fumes stunk, the stands were packed, and the fans were crazy. Would I ever buy my own ticket and go again? Nope. Was I glad I went? Hell yeaah!

It's all about the experience, and Paramount wants to bring you some of that NASCAR experience with Days of Thunder. Why dust off a 20-year old title? Because if the crowd's reaction to actor Michael Rooker, who played Tom Cruise's nemesis “Rowdy” Burns in the movie Days of Thunder was any indication, the movie still resonates deeply with the core audience. (Fun fact: There actually was an old NES Days of Thunder game way back in the day.)

click to enlargeRowdy's character was the aggressive type, and he liked to bump the other cars and trade paint. Picking up where the movie left off, Rowdy ends his racing career and becomes your crew chief. And with you being an up-and-comer, he'll mentor your own left turns to fame.

Far from being a sim, the game highlights Rowdy's style, with plenty of “rubbing” and crashes, all while being an approachable arcade experience. There are new cars to unlock with different characteristics, but it never gets technical. It's all about having fun, not fine-tuning your vehicle's camber and ride height.

Paint jobs, on the other hand, are highly customizable, and at least in the build we played, could be skinned with lots of other cool Paramount Pictures movies, a feature I hope makes it to the final release.

With 12 tracks in six different racing circuits, you'll be able to burn plenty of rubber this summer when Days of Thunder releases. Plus, as an additional bonus, there's no Tom Cruise.
More GR previews for this game:
Days of Thunder preview posted on 03/22/10.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Days of Thunder


More On GameRevolution