More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Days of Thunder Preview

Duke_Ferris By:
Duke_Ferris
03/22/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Paramount 
DEVELOPER Paramount 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Rubbing is racing.


One of the great things about my job is the amazing opportunities I get to experience, things that I would never have done in my life otherwise. Even things I'm not particularly interested in. If I had been a lawyer or a car salesman, I would have lived out all my years and would have never gone to Wrestlemania, would have never been to the Disney Family Museum, would have never visited the Russian Consulate, would have never been to a PBR rodeo, would have never met the Prime Minister of Iceland, and I never would have gone to a NASCAR race.

click to enlargeUnlike many millions of Americans, I don't follow what turns out to be the most popular spectator sport in the United States. However, thanks to the upcoming Days of Thunder game for Xbox Live Arcade Playstation Network, PC and Mac, Paramount Digital was nice enough to fly me down to Los Angeles to attend a NASCAR event at the Toyota Motor Speedway. It was loud, it was brash, the fumes stunk, the stands were packed, and the fans were crazy. Would I ever buy my own ticket and go again? Nope. Was I glad I went? Hell yeaah!

It's all about the experience, and Paramount wants to bring you some of that NASCAR experience with Days of Thunder. Why dust off a 20-year old title? Because if the crowd's reaction to actor Michael Rooker, who played Tom Cruise's nemesis “Rowdy” Burns in the movie Days of Thunder was any indication, the movie still resonates deeply with the core audience. (Fun fact: There actually was an old NES Days of Thunder game way back in the day.)

click to enlargeRowdy's character was the aggressive type, and he liked to bump the other cars and trade paint. Picking up where the movie left off, Rowdy ends his racing career and becomes your crew chief. And with you being an up-and-comer, he'll mentor your own left turns to fame.

Far from being a sim, the game highlights Rowdy's style, with plenty of “rubbing” and crashes, all while being an approachable arcade experience. There are new cars to unlock with different characteristics, but it never gets technical. It's all about having fun, not fine-tuning your vehicle's camber and ride height.

Paint jobs, on the other hand, are highly customizable, and at least in the build we played, could be skinned with lots of other cool Paramount Pictures movies, a feature I hope makes it to the final release.

With 12 tracks in six different racing circuits, you'll be able to burn plenty of rubber this summer when Days of Thunder releases. Plus, as an additional bonus, there's no Tom Cruise.
More GR previews for this game:
Days of Thunder preview posted on 03/22/10.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Days of Thunder