More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Dead Island Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
08/31/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Square Enix 
DEVELOPER Deep Silver, Techland 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

An oar, a butcher knife, a molotov cocktail, or the hotel pool.


Square Enix and Deep Silver have created a zombie that's all about choice. It's not about what clothes you wear or whether you let your co-op friend into the safe-house at the end of the level. Dead Island centers around the purity of zombie-apocalypse-survival gameplay. How am I going to kill all of these zombies?

The Penny Arcade Expo demo of Dead Island lasted for just five minutes, but in that short time, and in observing another players' run-throughs, I saw more zombies dispatched in more ways than in five minutes of any other zombie game. Deep Silver accomplishes this by largely avoiding gunplay in its entirety. While I haven't held a shotgun, revolver, or assault rifle on the island, I'd assume firing a gun at a zombie feels about as foreign as it does in Mirror's Edge.

Luckily, swinging a melee weapons satisfies in every sense of the word. Visually, zombies show their injuries in numerous ways. If you've bashed in a zombies mid-section, guts and innards will lay around the corpse like the candy from a broken piñata. Swinging a cleaver at a zombie's head will lop it clean off with a nice, healthy spurt of blood.

Audibly, beating zombies results in all kinds of thumps, slices, and groans. Tactile rumble feedback only furthers the experience. Doing damage to a member of the undead will vary depending on your aim. Obviously targeting the head will do greater damage than targeting the arm or mid-section, but you can disable limbs if you wail on them long enough.

Loot luggage, bodies, and trash cans for cash and more to improve your character's stats. Better weapons do more damage and having more skill with subsets of weapons will increase how long you can use them or how accurate you are with them. Developers told me that later in the game you can even find "legendary" weapons to further your growing kill count. Quest givers will litter the land and the entire island is yours to explore.

Easily the most satisfying moment of my PAX demo was kicking a zombie backwards into a hotel pool. Watching the stupid monster struggling to stay afloat made perfect sense to my id. I lured even more to my basin of death and kicked them in as well. As their lifeless bodies bobbed up and down, I mentally counted the days to Dead Island's September 6th release date when Square Enix and Deep Silver will be releasing their zombie-survival simulator upon Xbox 360, PS3, and PC gamers everywhere.
More GR previews for this game:
Dead Island preview posted on 08/31/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dead Island


More On GameRevolution