More Reviews
REVIEWS The Last of Us Remastered Review
Sony and Naughty Dog have revisited the PlayStation 3 opus to bring an enhanced vision of the game to PlayStation 4, but should you return to Joel and Ellie’s story so soon?

God of War Collection (Vita) Review
God of War brings its PS2 heritage to Vita, and the results are more than a bit baffling.
More Previews
PREVIEWS UemeU Preview
Giving the power to the players to build the games they want to play, UemeU opens up the sandbox to a larger degree than previous games, with intuitive tools, cooperative building, and very few restrictions.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

MotoGP 14
Release date: 09/01/14


LATEST FEATURES Buy, Try, or Die: August 2014 Release List
Sacred 3, Disgaea 4, inFamous: First Light, Madden NFL 15—what will you Buy, what will you Try, and what needs to Die?

The Best Cosplay of Comic-Con 2014
Comic-Con is the premier convention for cosplayers, and we've got more than a hundred shots this year. Which are your favorites?
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oneshotstop
Call of Duty will never be the same
By oneshotstop
Posted on 07/28/14
       We've all been there. Everyone remembers that mission. You and your partner are climbing up the mountains in the snow, striving to pull some slick clandestine operation about getting some intel on a bad guy, or something similar (because let's face...

Dead Island: Riptide Preview

Keri_Honea By:
Keri_Honea
03/23/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Deep Silver 
DEVELOPER Techland 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Use of Drugs

What do these ratings mean?

Out of the fire and into... another fire.

The survivors of the first Dead Island game may think they have escaped the horrors of Banoi island scot-free, but their ship wrecks onto another island, where—you guessed it—they get to experience the terror of the infection all over again.

I was treated to a 20-minute hands-on demo where I teamed up with three other survivors for co-op survival through the campaign. I have not played the first Dead Island game, so I honestly did not know what to expect in terms of gameplay. It features melee-focused combat, but the point of view is in first-person, something I found very awkward getting used to. In fact, I'm not sure I really got used to it, especially since the time I had with it was so short. Even though there is an aiming reticule on screen, not unlike what you would see in a first-person shooter, I found using it to line up my knife-slashing attacks clumsy at best. About halfway through my demo, I started to wish that I had selected the character who was the expert in firearms instead.



We started really early in the game, which I expect to be somewhat slow, but it never once felt like the action picked up beyond spurts. After we were acclimated to our new hell, we had to put up barriers to keep infected out, and then of course they attacked. Then we had a brief respite before we had to put up new barriers for the next wave. Not long after, we decided to blow up the bridge they were coming in on, which of course meant more infected were attacking. Regroup, talk, attack. Regroup, talk, attack. It felt more like I was playing a few rounds of horde mode on Gears of War than a campaign, which is not necessarily a bad thing at all.

In addition to the melee combat, the game features some RPG-like elements, including weapon upgrades and skill trees for your character. Each time your character levels up, you get a skill point to spend at a rather large skill tree for combat, physical, or survival skills. It's not as complex as you might see in a traditional RPG by any means, but it was still larger than I expected for an action game.

Dead Island: Riptide releases April 23, 2013 for PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and PC.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dead Island: Riptide


More On GameRevolution