More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Dead Island: Riptide Preview

Keri_Honea By:
Keri_Honea
03/23/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Deep Silver 
DEVELOPER Techland 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Use of Drugs

What do these ratings mean?

Out of the fire and into... another fire.

The survivors of the first Dead Island game may think they have escaped the horrors of Banoi island scot-free, but their ship wrecks onto another island, where—you guessed it—they get to experience the terror of the infection all over again.

I was treated to a 20-minute hands-on demo where I teamed up with three other survivors for co-op survival through the campaign. I have not played the first Dead Island game, so I honestly did not know what to expect in terms of gameplay. It features melee-focused combat, but the point of view is in first-person, something I found very awkward getting used to. In fact, I'm not sure I really got used to it, especially since the time I had with it was so short. Even though there is an aiming reticule on screen, not unlike what you would see in a first-person shooter, I found using it to line up my knife-slashing attacks clumsy at best. About halfway through my demo, I started to wish that I had selected the character who was the expert in firearms instead.



We started really early in the game, which I expect to be somewhat slow, but it never once felt like the action picked up beyond spurts. After we were acclimated to our new hell, we had to put up barriers to keep infected out, and then of course they attacked. Then we had a brief respite before we had to put up new barriers for the next wave. Not long after, we decided to blow up the bridge they were coming in on, which of course meant more infected were attacking. Regroup, talk, attack. Regroup, talk, attack. It felt more like I was playing a few rounds of horde mode on Gears of War than a campaign, which is not necessarily a bad thing at all.

In addition to the melee combat, the game features some RPG-like elements, including weapon upgrades and skill trees for your character. Each time your character levels up, you get a skill point to spend at a rather large skill tree for combat, physical, or survival skills. It's not as complex as you might see in a traditional RPG by any means, but it was still larger than I expected for an action game.

Dead Island: Riptide releases April 23, 2013 for PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and PC.
IF YOU WANT TO CHAT, HIT ME UP

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dead Island: Riptide


More On GameRevolution