More Reviews
REVIEWS World of Tanks (PS4) Review
Modern warfare shooters are a dime-a-dozen, so why not jump behind the “wheel” of a ten-ton behemoth and incorporate strategy to decimate the enemy?

Attractio Review
In the year 3275, the most exciting thing to do is watch people move boxes around a room. If this truly is the future, please end me now!
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Mighty No. 9
Release date: Out Now

Arslan: The Warriors of Legend
Release date: Out Now

Factotum 90
Release date: Out Now

Aegis of Earth: Protonovus Assault
Release date: 03/01/16


LATEST FEATURES The New Hitman Is Still Hitman, But Its Episodic Nature Might Subdue Reviewers
How will reviewers grade this?

A Skill Tree Build Guide for Every Class in XCOM 2
Punish the alien opposition with perfectly built Grenadiers, Psi Operatives, Rangers, Specialists, and Sharpshooters.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Ivory_Soul
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...

Dead Space 3 Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/06/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Visceral Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

So alone, so good.


Entering the Dead Space 3 booth at E3, I was met with a chill, something sorely lacking from the entirety of the conference. Seriously, these small enclosed spaces, packed to the brim with nerd and rarely having their air recycled, get way too hot. But Electronic Arts used the snowy environments in Visceral's sequel to splurge on an air conditioning unit.

Still, I didn't care how comfortable I was sitting there watching Dead Space 3. The revelation that a co-operative partner could drop in and drop out had me more than a little pissed at EA and their need to shoehorn multiplayer into each of their games.


It wasn't until the demo started that I learned single-player would remain a single-player affair. There is no AI-controlled co-operative partner. Cutscenes are different depending on whether you're playing solo or with a partner. YOU WILL NOT HAVE A TAG ALONG.

Dead Space 3 will still be a solitary outing if you so choose, and that made all the difference. Knowing that, I sat back, releaxed, and watched as Isaac Clarke was impaled by a necromorph boss's tentacle. Of course the gore didn't stop there, what with Isaac's limbs still attached to his body.


These are the things I love about the Dead Space series: You're alone, you're scared, and you are more vunerable than you could ever imagine. The fact that the developers at Visceral purposefully die at one point in the demo demonstrates the pride they take in their death animations.

And don't worry, just because Clarke and company are lost on a snowy landscape doesn't mean the scares aren't there. In one section, a snowstorm actually inhibited visibility like the shadowy sections of the Ishimura. Dead Space 3 certainly seems to be cut more from Dead Space 2's cloth, but it's nice to see features being added without alienating what made the series so appealing in the first place.

Dead Space 3 is slated to release on February 2013.


More GR previews for this game:
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 08/06/12.
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 12/18/12.
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 01/22/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.



comments powered by Disqus


More information about Dead Space 3


More On GameRevolution