More Reviews
REVIEWS Five Nights at Freddy's Review
So damn scary, I had to break every ten minutes just writing this review.

InFamous: First Light Review
Sony’s open-world action game gets new life with a blast from Sucker Punch who’ve got a story dedicated to neon-powered Fetch and her brother.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Fenix Rage Preview
I died. And I died again. Died again. Again and again. Again. Again. Why Do I Love This So Much?!
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Madden NFL 15
Release date: Out Now

Destiny
Release date: 09/09/14

Ar Nosurge: Ode to an Unborn Star
Release date: 09/23/14

FIFA 15
Release date: 09/23/14


LATEST FEATURES inFamous: First Light Battle Arena Hints, Strategies, Tips [Stream Over]
Watch as I build out our feature of useful tactics for players in Sucker Punch's wave-based and arcade-awesome arena mode.

The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP KevinS
RIP Robin Williams (1951-2014)
By KevinS
Posted on 08/14/14
Robin Williams (1951-2014) Robin Williams was an absolutely exceptional comedian, talented actor, and holder of a special place in video game history: He was the first really famous gamer I know of. I’m sure there were others, but they kept a comparatively low profile, unlike one...

Dead Space 3 Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/06/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Visceral Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

So alone, so good.


Entering the Dead Space 3 booth at E3, I was met with a chill, something sorely lacking from the entirety of the conference. Seriously, these small enclosed spaces, packed to the brim with nerd and rarely having their air recycled, get way too hot. But Electronic Arts used the snowy environments in Visceral's sequel to splurge on an air conditioning unit.

Still, I didn't care how comfortable I was sitting there watching Dead Space 3. The revelation that a co-operative partner could drop in and drop out had me more than a little pissed at EA and their need to shoehorn multiplayer into each of their games.


It wasn't until the demo started that I learned single-player would remain a single-player affair. There is no AI-controlled co-operative partner. Cutscenes are different depending on whether you're playing solo or with a partner. YOU WILL NOT HAVE A TAG ALONG.

Dead Space 3 will still be a solitary outing if you so choose, and that made all the difference. Knowing that, I sat back, releaxed, and watched as Isaac Clarke was impaled by a necromorph boss's tentacle. Of course the gore didn't stop there, what with Isaac's limbs still attached to his body.


These are the things I love about the Dead Space series: You're alone, you're scared, and you are more vunerable than you could ever imagine. The fact that the developers at Visceral purposefully die at one point in the demo demonstrates the pride they take in their death animations.

And don't worry, just because Clarke and company are lost on a snowy landscape doesn't mean the scares aren't there. In one section, a snowstorm actually inhibited visibility like the shadowy sections of the Ishimura. Dead Space 3 certainly seems to be cut more from Dead Space 2's cloth, but it's nice to see features being added without alienating what made the series so appealing in the first place.

Dead Space 3 is slated to release on February 2013.
More GR previews for this game:
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 01/22/13.
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 12/18/12.
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 08/06/12.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dead Space 3


More On GameRevolution