More Reviews
REVIEWS Persona 4 Arena Ultimax Review
Ultimax comes the closest to realizing my dream of an actual fighting RPG.

Super Smash Bros. (3DS) Review
Nintendo’s first brawler, combining characters from all over its universe, lands on a handheld for the first time and it sure packs a wallop.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Sunset Overdrive Preview
Microsoft and Insomniac Games have created a new open-world shooter with clear influences from Jet Grind Radio. We went hands-on with the first hour of the game.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP ryanbates
Respawning
By ryanbates
Posted on 09/25/14
I had planned to write something about the Borderlands series, but that will have to wait. I have something I need to get off my chest first. It's very personal, and I hope the two or three of you who follow my sparse blog will spare me this moment. I joked in my review for the bizarre...

Dead Space 3 Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
01/22/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Visceral Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Where to next?

Of the nearly three hours I played of Dead Space 3 two weeks ago, the final 30 seconds were perhaps the most telling about the experience, due out on February 5th for Xbox 360, PS3, and PC. Visceral Games is bringing Isaac Clarke back out of retirement for another run at the Markers and all of the trouble they've caused the universe.

Despite the possibility of an entire galaxy redeemed from gruesome life after death, Isaac remains reluctant, and who can blame him? How many franchises make it through three games in six years and come out shining on the other side? Dead Space started as a linear, horror-focused title in 2008 and expanded to include more white-knuckle action as a means to break the tension in Dead Space 2.

Thankfully, Dead Space 3 seems set to blow the air lock on everything you've seen the series do so far, expanding the amount of activity, interaction, and replayability you'll have with the universe and a cooperative partner. By the end of the demo, I saw Dead Space 3 as more Metroid than Resident Evil.



When it's revealed that Ellie, the femme fatale who aided Isaac in his escape from The Sprawl at the end of Dead Space 2, has gone missing, Isaac is left without a choice and joins Robert Norton and John Carver. It's at this moment that Unitologist insurgents blow up a Marker test site and infect the colony with the same disease originally encountered on the Ishimura.

The gameplay beats in these early chapters should be familiar to longtime fans of the series. Use Kinesis to solve puzzles and use the environment to your advantage. Use Stasis to slow down enemies and target their limbs easily. Blow the arms and legs off anything that moves, but give them a curb stomp or two to make sure they don't come back.

"Booooring," I thought. These beats weren't the ones I was hoping to see, but an explosion quickly separated me from the NPCs and I was left to pace through an eerily silent office building. Tension filled the air and one-off sound effects made my skin crawl. Then I heard Necromorphs behind me. Spinning around, I blew one enemy in half with my trusty Plasma Cutter. I quickly turned my attention to the other two who were trying to flank me.

Seemingly in control, I was suddenly at the mercy of the lower half left behind from my earlier shot. Some Necromorphs can transform and keep the pressure up on cocky players like me.



Fast forward to the Eudora, Norton, and Carver's ship en route to orbit Tau Volantis, the last known location of Ellie and her Marker research crew. When mines blow the armor hull and the vacuum of space destroys the ship, Isaac has to quickly suit up in classic Dead Space style and Halo-jump from one decimated transport to another left hanging in space for centuries.

There, Visceral reestablishes the way engineering challenges in the narrative are presented to the player as puzzles. A generator room requires Isaac to jump-start three turbines by rotating them into place with Kinesis, all while holding off intermittent Necromorph attacks. Tripping back through this room after completing an objective reveals that now another huge Necro monster has awoken in the bowels of the ship. Repeating the turbine action allows Isaac to defeat the monster, but not without some heart-pounding action and sound.

There was never a worry in my mind about Dead Space 3's sound design, as the series has built its reputation on audio cues and atmospheric design. I'd be happy to play six games of linear-corridor shooting if it means the lighting, mood, and aesthetic are on the level of Dead Space 1 and 2, but Visceral has added two new systems to keep things fresh.

Next: Handcrafted weapons and the open road

More GR previews for this game:
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 06/06/12.
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 08/06/12.
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 12/18/12.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dead Space 3


More On GameRevolution