More Reviews
REVIEWS Minecraft: Story Mode Review
Telltale Games brings their special blend of player choice to the blocky world of the mega-hit Minecraft. Does the combination make as much sense as flint plus coal?

Dragon Quest Heroes Review
Does this Dragon Quest and Dynasty Warriors combo work, or should it be Whacked?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Total War: Warhammer Preview
Total War: Warhammer is exactly what you expect, so if you like Creative Assembly's games or Games Workshop's sprawling setting, there's a lot to be excited about.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Just Dance 2016
Release date: 10/20/15

Just Dance: Disney Party 2
Release date: 10/20/15

Adventure Time: Finn and Jake Investigations
Release date: 11/01/15

Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 5
Release date: 11/10/15

Read More Member Blogs
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...

Dead Space 3 Preview

danielrbischoff By:
GENRE Action 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Visceral Games 
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

So alone, so good.

Entering the Dead Space 3 booth at E3, I was met with a chill, something sorely lacking from the entirety of the conference. Seriously, these small enclosed spaces, packed to the brim with nerd and rarely having their air recycled, get way too hot. But Electronic Arts used the snowy environments in Visceral's sequel to splurge on an air conditioning unit.

Still, I didn't care how comfortable I was sitting there watching Dead Space 3. The revelation that a co-operative partner could drop in and drop out had me more than a little pissed at EA and their need to shoehorn multiplayer into each of their games.

It wasn't until the demo started that I learned single-player would remain a single-player affair. There is no AI-controlled co-operative partner. Cutscenes are different depending on whether you're playing solo or with a partner. YOU WILL NOT HAVE A TAG ALONG.

Dead Space 3 will still be a solitary outing if you so choose, and that made all the difference. Knowing that, I sat back, releaxed, and watched as Isaac Clarke was impaled by a necromorph boss's tentacle. Of course the gore didn't stop there, what with Isaac's limbs still attached to his body.

These are the things I love about the Dead Space series: You're alone, you're scared, and you are more vunerable than you could ever imagine. The fact that the developers at Visceral purposefully die at one point in the demo demonstrates the pride they take in their death animations.

And don't worry, just because Clarke and company are lost on a snowy landscape doesn't mean the scares aren't there. In one section, a snowstorm actually inhibited visibility like the shadowy sections of the Ishimura. Dead Space 3 certainly seems to be cut more from Dead Space 2's cloth, but it's nice to see features being added without alienating what made the series so appealing in the first place.

Dead Space 3 is slated to release on February 2013.

More GR previews for this game:
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 08/06/12.
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 12/18/12.
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 01/22/13.

More from the Game Revolution Network

comments powered by Disqus


More information about Dead Space 3

More On GameRevolution