More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity 3.0 Review
Disney Infinity 3.0 offers the first real taste of new Star Wars gaming content since the franchise was purchased by the Disney Corporation. This begs the question: Is it Han Sololicious? Or Jar Jar Bombad?

Lara Croft GO Review
Everyone’s favorite spunky spelunker goes retro for her new adventure on mobile devices. Does this blast from the past offer enough variety to stand on its own?
More Previews
PREVIEWS WWE 2K16 Preview
WWE 2K16 features over 100 playable characters, Create-a-Character, and a Showcase featuring Stone Cold Steve Austin. What could be better for wrestling fans?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Release date: 09/01/15

Destiny: The Taken King
Release date: 09/15/15

Skylanders SuperChargers
Release date: 09/20/15

LEGO Dimensions
Release date: 09/27/15


LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Ivory_Soul
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...

Dead Space 3 Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/06/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Visceral Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

So alone, so good.


Entering the Dead Space 3 booth at E3, I was met with a chill, something sorely lacking from the entirety of the conference. Seriously, these small enclosed spaces, packed to the brim with nerd and rarely having their air recycled, get way too hot. But Electronic Arts used the snowy environments in Visceral's sequel to splurge on an air conditioning unit.

Still, I didn't care how comfortable I was sitting there watching Dead Space 3. The revelation that a co-operative partner could drop in and drop out had me more than a little pissed at EA and their need to shoehorn multiplayer into each of their games.


It wasn't until the demo started that I learned single-player would remain a single-player affair. There is no AI-controlled co-operative partner. Cutscenes are different depending on whether you're playing solo or with a partner. YOU WILL NOT HAVE A TAG ALONG.

Dead Space 3 will still be a solitary outing if you so choose, and that made all the difference. Knowing that, I sat back, releaxed, and watched as Isaac Clarke was impaled by a necromorph boss's tentacle. Of course the gore didn't stop there, what with Isaac's limbs still attached to his body.


These are the things I love about the Dead Space series: You're alone, you're scared, and you are more vunerable than you could ever imagine. The fact that the developers at Visceral purposefully die at one point in the demo demonstrates the pride they take in their death animations.

And don't worry, just because Clarke and company are lost on a snowy landscape doesn't mean the scares aren't there. In one section, a snowstorm actually inhibited visibility like the shadowy sections of the Ishimura. Dead Space 3 certainly seems to be cut more from Dead Space 2's cloth, but it's nice to see features being added without alienating what made the series so appealing in the first place.

Dead Space 3 is slated to release on February 2013.


More GR previews for this game:
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 08/06/12.
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 12/18/12.
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 01/22/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dead Space 3


More On GameRevolution