More Reviews
REVIEWS Pokémon Omega Ruby & Alpha Sapph Review
In some way, Pokémon and the relationships they form with their trainers wind up teaching the player something completely different than what you might suspect.

LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES Black Friday 2014 Video Game Deals Buyer's Guide
Looking to score the most bang for your buck the day after Thanksgiving? Well look no further! Our Black Friday guide is just the tool you need.

With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Dead Space 3 Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/06/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Visceral Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

So alone, so good.


Entering the Dead Space 3 booth at E3, I was met with a chill, something sorely lacking from the entirety of the conference. Seriously, these small enclosed spaces, packed to the brim with nerd and rarely having their air recycled, get way too hot. But Electronic Arts used the snowy environments in Visceral's sequel to splurge on an air conditioning unit.

Still, I didn't care how comfortable I was sitting there watching Dead Space 3. The revelation that a co-operative partner could drop in and drop out had me more than a little pissed at EA and their need to shoehorn multiplayer into each of their games.


It wasn't until the demo started that I learned single-player would remain a single-player affair. There is no AI-controlled co-operative partner. Cutscenes are different depending on whether you're playing solo or with a partner. YOU WILL NOT HAVE A TAG ALONG.

Dead Space 3 will still be a solitary outing if you so choose, and that made all the difference. Knowing that, I sat back, releaxed, and watched as Isaac Clarke was impaled by a necromorph boss's tentacle. Of course the gore didn't stop there, what with Isaac's limbs still attached to his body.


These are the things I love about the Dead Space series: You're alone, you're scared, and you are more vunerable than you could ever imagine. The fact that the developers at Visceral purposefully die at one point in the demo demonstrates the pride they take in their death animations.

And don't worry, just because Clarke and company are lost on a snowy landscape doesn't mean the scares aren't there. In one section, a snowstorm actually inhibited visibility like the shadowy sections of the Ishimura. Dead Space 3 certainly seems to be cut more from Dead Space 2's cloth, but it's nice to see features being added without alienating what made the series so appealing in the first place.

Dead Space 3 is slated to release on February 2013.


More GR previews for this game:
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 08/06/12.
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 12/18/12.
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 01/22/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dead Space 3