More Reviews
REVIEWS Atelier Ayesha Plus: The Alchemi Review
Atelier Ayesha Plus is a new entry in a classic-JRPG series with a pretty paintjob, but does the classic formula still hold up?

Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Kingston HyperX Cloud II Headset Review
Kingston's HyperX Cloud II is a mid-range USB Headset with an onboard sound board. So how does it sound compared to the pros?

Developer Spotlight: Kojima Productions
As we barrel toward this year's Game Developers Conference, the GR crew takes a look at some of the most talented devs in the industry.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Dead Space 3 Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
12/18/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Visceral Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Piss pants! Scream like a little girl! Show objective!

At an event in early December, Electronic Arts laid out their entire 2013 catalog (so far) and let us go to town. Despite new games like Fuse or big-budget FPSs like Crysis 3, I was most interested in seeing more of Dead Space 3.

The space-horror title has gotten a lot of flak in the past few months for a number of issues gamers identify as "selling-out" or "pandering to the lowest common denominator." Many readers at GameRevolution simply stated "f***ing Electronic Arts." The same reaction was heard when the publisher revealed that the Xbox 360 version of the game would come complete with Kinect voice commands (as Mass Effect 3 did earlier this year).


I'm here to remind everyone that Visceral Games has smartly incorporated these features, from the cooperative campaign all the way to these Kinect controls, and they're completely optional. If anything, these options for gamers of all experience levels have added to the studio's workload, not detracted from your experience (yet).

Picking up the controller, I quickly began tooling around with Isaac Clarke while waiting for my partner in the other room. Clarke handles as he did in previous Dead Space games. He can run, pick up items, and generally fight necromorphs as before, but in the heat of battle you can save time by using voice commands to activate health packs or even freeze enemies with stasis.

It might not make the most sense to pick up crates with your voice, only to smash them with another Kinect command, but that's all there for you if you wish. It works exactly as it did in Mass Effect 3  so if you bothered to fiddle with voice in that game, you should know what to expect in Dead Space 3.


The developer from Visceral Studios at the demo said he understood the fears fans have when things like multiplayer (see: Dead Space 2) are added into games and franchises they care about. That didn't mean the studio would ignore the opportunities they had to open the game up to anyone and everyone.

Of course, I made it through the admittedly short demo with ease, assisting my co-op partner and tearing necromorphs limbs off one by one, but when Isaac and company had to climb a sheer cliff face, barking out "Quick Heal" saved my life. I thought I was comfortable with a few yellow bars on Isaac's back, but after taking a boulder to the face, an instinctive verbal order was twice as convenient and fast as remembering the right button press or, god forbid, navigating a menu in-game.

You might not want to use Kinect voice command or you might not even plan on playing Dead Space 3 on your Xbox 360, but for those who have with a little more difficulty in fighting off the hungry necromorphs (like Jessica_Vasquez), rejuvenation is two syllables away.
More GR previews for this game:
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 06/06/12.
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 08/06/12.
Dead Space 3 preview posted on 01/22/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dead Space 3